Commeth the hour.....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
August 25th 2012
Published: August 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I take over the blog. I think the power may just go to my head and already I am feeling slightly dizzy.

An early start this morning saw us rise at 5.00 am in preparation of our bus trip to the start of the inka trail at Km82. Laki was actually rather calm, despite her luggage weight dilema whilst I was secretly thanking the lord that I wasn't about to punish myself with 4 days arduous treking and 3 nights of below zero temperatures in a stinky tent!

I was dropped off in Ollantaytambo, a point where I had arranged to meet my guide. I must admit I was rather nervous as I had obtained the guide's details from trip advisor forum and I had only communicated with her via email. For all I knew the delightful Mariella was infant a psychopath called Maurice from Oldham.

In reality Mariella turned out to be a lovely guide, and we spent the day zooming around the Sacred Valley visiting Inca ruins, Salt mines and Peruvian markets. My mind did wander on occasion to Laki and her green plastic poncho (the group all bought a poncho, each a different colour so they could look like a rainbow 😊) I am hoping she is enjoying her trek and her sacrifice of not taking the hot water bottle is oing to be worthwhile. ( who needs a hot water bottle when you can pee in the thermos water carrier? Bingo solves her weight and warmth problem, not to mention night-time toilet duties all in one go!)

Slightly concerned I haven't heard from Laki, let's hope she hasn't fallen off the mountain. In the meantime I am snuggling into my queen size bed, had to make a difficult choice as to which of the 2 beds to sleep in.....will I wake up in the night with Laki banging on the door,having abandoned the hike?! Watch this space.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



26th August 2012

Please bring a baby lama home, they are sooo cute! I'm sure it will befriend Dennis and Scully :-)

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb