Day 11


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
July 10th 2012
Published: July 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I had an amazing sleep in and woke up in a more positive mood today. I left the hotel with zero plans and the day turned out beautifully, especially because I could actually put some more weight on my foot and the pain wasn't anywhere near as bad. It was such a perfect day as well and I was able to wear a t-shirt and sunnies. I came across an organic cotton shop and treated myself to a few nice Peruvian made tops. I somehow found the Inca Museum and spent a fair while in there secretly following another group with an english speaking tour guide... Everything was written in spanish so Everything would have been meaningless to me if I hadn't of been informed in a language I understood. Then I think it was fate I found a little vego raw food restaurant. I was in heaven as he even made superfood green smoothies with spinach, avocado, goji berries, coconut, maca and much more... Just like the ones I make everyday for breakfast. I was the only person in the shop and the owner was so hospitable. We chatted for ages about health, cusco, the inca trail and yoga. He is soon running a month yoga training course in conjunction with a raw food certification so I gave him my details as this is something would definitely interest me in the future. Cusco would be an amazing place to live and there are plenty of Aussies here. Also during our chat he mentioned he used to work for Intrepid (the company I am with) doing the Inca Trail. He also knew our guide Ollie really well... Such a small world! I'm taking dad back here when he finishes the trail in a few days as I'm sure he is craving a green juice too! I had him hooked back home as they make you feel so energetic. I questioned him why he is only open until 7pm and he said because his shop is near the main square there are plenty of drug deals happening when it gets dark and he didn't want to be around that, plus he teaches yoga at night. I continued mindlessly wandering around and popping into many shops, and even got a cheap blow wave ($14 in a Kerastase salon) as my hair was matted and gross. I came to an area where there were plenty of tourists so chose a random guy and decided to follow him! I ended up at the Artisinal market where I had a ball... Dad should have known not to leave me alone in such a place. I became good at bargaining too and was as assertive as they were. Then I returned to the raw food restaurant and had a green juice and a healthy dessert kind of like a tart that was prepared on the spot made from almonds, chia seeds, dates and mango. My body is thanking me for all the green foods I have been filling it with. I then relaxed in the room for a while, tried my new clothes on, then headed to dinner with Ollie again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb