Hello Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
June 29th 2012
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Lima late on Sunday night, and even though I couldn't see much,my taxi driver still acted quite the tour guide. I arrived at my hotel and after a long day,I settled in at my hotel and got some sleep. Monday morning I was up early an went for a look around the colonial part of lima, heading into the San Francisco cathedral which was quite beautiful, and I happened to time my venture well enough to see the changing of the guard at the palace. The old town in Lima is quite beautiful, and you can see the heavy Spanish influence in the architecture and the set up of the town square. In the afternoon I got on a bus to Paracas, a coastal town a few hours from Lima,as you leave the city, the desert instantly hits you,and the landscape stayed this way until Paracs, which even though coastal,was still desert country. I had ceviche (raw fish cooked in lime juice) which was different but tasty. Tuesday morning I got up and headed out by boat to the Ballestas Islands by boat to see what the local wildlife had to offer, we got to see an array of local bird life and sea lions, seeing a baby one which was ridiculously cute! After the boat trip it was back on another bus to Nazca where I spent the afternoonrelaxing a little. Wednesday was the most actioned packed day I've had in Peru so far, I got up early,went to the airport to fly over the Nazca lines, the flight running on Peruvian time, so instead I went out to a historical cemetery of the Nazca people in the desert, where I saw mummified remains, and the 2000 year old tombs of these people. After the cemetery visit it was back to the airport where I was able to get on my flight, which gave an incredible view of the Nazca lines. After the flight,it was a bit of a rush to get back into town where I was picked up by a dune buggy, and headed out into the massive dunes of the Nazca desert. The dune buggy was amazing fun and after tackling some massive dunes, it was time to try some boarding. It wad soooo much fun, a couple in our group clearly regular snow boarders, after a couple of times my attempts proved more successful and I spent less time on my bum! After a huge afternoon we finallyheaded back into town.during the afternoon I met a lovely Aussie and German girl, who were going to head to Arequipa (where I was headed next), where we planned to catch up, also with plans to catch up in Buenos Aires closer to the end of our respective trips. So far so good for Peru! I'm off to Colca Canyon today to check out the hiking, zip lines and the condors! Much love!xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb