I Have Hot Water In Ollan-Tay- "Oh Boy" -Tambo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
July 8th 2011
Published: July 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I Have Hot Water In Ollan-Tay- "Oh Boy" -Tambo

Ollantaytambo, an hour and a half closer to Machu Picchu...cheaper train ride, earlier arrival to the ruin, plus it's cute...why not spend a few nights here? 

Michelle and I got dropped off in the Plaza de Armas around 10:30 and the hotel receptionist greeted us right by our taxi. Our hostel was a few minute walk from the Main Square, and difficult for a taxi to maneuver through the narrow cobblestone streets. Essentially they are mini passageways lined with tall Incan style rock walls. The entire town is a large maze and it makes for very unique pictures. 

After getting situated, we headed towards the square (almost trampled by three bulls) for some eats and people watching. I am enthralled with the native garb, how the women carry infants in a blanket that they fold into a backpack (I think I may get one for the expecting parents, Steven and Kourt), and especially the hats and ponchos. In each city the women's attire is pretty much similar, but here the hats are drastically different. They are worn to the side and remind me very much like the hats worn to the royal wedding, except a bit more colorful. Here also the men wear a unique red poncho. I wonder what it means? I'm going to look it up! Anyway, whenever I can get a chance I try to snap a photo...it could be in mid convo which drives my friend nuts. Michelle says I'm not so discreet. I, however, beg to differ and think I'm pretty sly. I haven't spotted any llamas, so the people are keeping me very entertained. 

Since Michelle missed the last horseback riding trip, she really wanted to go especially after my rant and rave of my trip to Tipon.  I made the deal with her that if she held the backpack I would go...so "I was back in the saddle again..." (Yes, I did sing that throughout the morning and the beginning of the ride...Until...it got to the point where I felt like I was going to die). 

I had an unsettling feeling the minute we pulled up to the ranch. The saddles were kinda funky and they didn't supply helmets.  I should have listened to Uncle Jim when he said if your skeptical don't do it. I knew how much Michelle really wanted to go, so I kept my mouth shut. In my opinion, from the get go, it felt different on the horse. He seemed very lethargic and he inched his way up the hill rather than trotting. The path was steep and filled with  loose, jagged gravel, and appeared to hurt the bottom of the horse's feet. As we progressed through the ride, the path was getting steeper and narrower. One slip on the gravel and I was dropping thousands of feet. This is the point where I started to hyperventilate. Now, in my family if you start something you must complete it to the best of your ability...so i continued hoping that it would soon get better. (I mean it had to). Sure enough it didn't. I couldn't even enjoy the beautiful scenery. I wanted off that horse. I looked straight ahead, clenched my hands to the reigns, steered the horse the best of my novice capabilities and prayed to God. For some reason, the only thing I could think of at the time was the lyrics to Billy Joel's "Only the Good Die Young" and the fact that if I did jump off the horse there was the great possibility of getting horse manure all over my favorite sneakers.  With each click clack, I took some severe breaths and as we descended I think there may have been some loud shrills, long whines, and tears!  Interestedly, Lonely Planet has been on the ball with wonderful recommendations to eateries, hotels, and adventure agents, however, Sota Adventures is not Christina Howard approved. Yes, I did make it up and down and live to tell an interesting story, but I have a few more grey hairs and I have decided that horseback riding in Ollantaytambo's mountains and being surrounded by swarming man-eating minnows would be what my hell looks like. For those, that think I may be a bit dramatic, (Karen, Eric, and the Ledge Girls stop rolling your eyes), I suggest you try it and don't let me tell you "I told you so!" 

Immediately, upon our arrival, much needed Cusequena took the edge off (Less addicting than Xanax). Relaxed and ready to conquer local ruins, we got out our handy Boleta de Tourista and visited the Ollantaytambo Ruins. Michelle hops up and down the stairs like a little rabbit, it's pretty amazing considering it's quite uneven. I move more like a tortoise but still make it to the same place. These ruins are my favorite and I love how they overlook the city. We snapped many photos and watched the sunset before the security guards threw us out. 

Puka Rumi is where we grabbed an awesome candle light dinner of fajitas. Also, we met two Americans from Philadelphia, and set up a dinner date for tomorrow night. I'm rather excited because it's exhausting looking at Michelle's mug all day. (Just Kidding Shelber..you've been a peach). 

Yay! Machu Picchu tomorrow!

Stay tuned...

Christina

Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb