My Peruvian food experience


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
October 7th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just in case you were wondering, I am still vegetarian and did not eat the guinea pig in the picture. The others say it tastes a bit like chicken though, except with very little meat.

I have had plenty of traditional dishes to try myself. In Cusco, I had rocoto relleno (filled hot pepper) for the first time. It was delicious, and the meal was particularly great because the restaurants in San Blas, the suburb where we stayed, also gave us free pisco sours and garlic bread... My first encounter with rocoto was actually back when I was in Potosí by myself. I bought what I thought were tomatoes and capsicum for a home-made sandwich. It was with great shock and great pain that I discovered that what I thought were capsicum were actually rocoto and not to be taken lightly.

Another dish I had was ocopa, which doesn't sound very interesting as it is basically boiled potato covered in cheese sauce. I loved it, but no one else in my tour group did. Maybe my cold has altered my taste just the right amount. There are also various types of potato available. I didn't like the dried potato all that much, because it has a very dense consistency, but it was interesting to try anyway.

I have already told you about the foul chicha (fermented corn brew) they drink here. You can tell which places sell chicha because they hang a red plastic bag by the front foor. The chicha de quinoa which I ventured to taste was no better than the frutillada. However, chicha morada, which is made from purple corn, is a completely different drink altogether, without the horrible fermented taste. I have never managed to find the chicha de maní (peanut drink) which I drank and loved in Rurrenabaque (Bolivia) again.

On the subject of chicha, it used to be drunk only by the king and queen and priests in Incan times. Other people drank water. I went to a museum to see the preserved (frozen) body of Juanita yesterday. She was a girl of 14 to 16 years, who was scacrificed at the summit of Mount Ampato 500 years ago. They say the blow to her head which killed her would not have caused her pain because she would have been tired (she walked all the way from Cusco), cold, hungry, and they gave her chicha to intoxicate her, as they discovered by analysing the contents of her stomach.

After going to the museum, I went to a vegetarian restaurant, hoping that I would get a healthier meal. I went for a set menu, which is called menú in Peru (almuerzo in Bolivia). I did not choose well. My vegetable soup was made of carrot and green beans, which I had been eating rather a lot of lately, and the salad which was supposed to come with my meal was made of the same vegetables! I have only ever had really oily fries in South America too. For dessert, I had a pye de manzana (apple pie), which is written pie de manzana in some restaurants. I found this really funny because, as you probably know, pie in Spanish means 'foot'.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th October 2007

guinea pig for tea?
Sarah, You say that you did not eat the guinea pig, but (and tell the truth here) how did it die...you didn't step on it, did you? Sounds like a fun holiday - and thank you for assuming that we would all know that pie meant foot in Spanish - of course we all did know that but it is handy that you reminded us :) Cheers, gaston
9th October 2007

So that's what you think of me, huh? (Thanks for your comments though... it's always nice to know someone reads what I write.) I forgot to add that they show you the guinea pig so you can take a photo, then they take the plate away, chop it up and remove the head, before bringing it back.
9th October 2007

I remember seeing guinea pigs with a Skewer through them from top to bottom on a rotisserie. They seemed to have little meat on them, not what I remember of my pet guinea pig from when I was young. PLeased you found other vegetarian food there.When I was there I just ended up eating eggs, fries and salad every day. Buen viaje.
11th October 2007

Well-preserved
The writing is vintage Sarah: quirky, detailed, and verging on the irascible. I liked the story about poor Juanita: it reminded me of the Blessed Albert who must be about the same age and is still around at Santa Catarina Del Sasso in Italy. Keep on posting: the reports are all greatly appreciated! L
11th October 2007

Hey Sarah
Great blog. Thanks for sharing the colourful world you are travelling in! I enjoy all your posts. Safe travel!
14th October 2007

Guinea pig shrinkage
Julian, I was wondering about that too! All the live guinea pig I have seen in Peru have looked really fat. Maybe it's the fur which gives the effect, or maybe the roasting does something to them?

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb