pucallpa


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ucayali » Pucallpa
May 11th 2007
Published: May 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well It is over, at least the south America leg of this journey we call life. After spending 13 months in South America I flew back to the states yesterday and I am currently in the Chicago area (special thanks go out to my buddy Robbie Hopkins for picking me up at the airport) While sitting in the airport in Miami I realized that now: I am Homeless, car less, jobless ....


Ok, on to another topic, I do have some new photos from pucallpa which is a town in the jungle of Peru. There is a "tribe" that lives there called the shipibo. It is a matriarchal society and the women sell jewelry, fabrics and pottery to the tourists. I ended up visiting a small community called San Fransisco and spent a little time with one family and ended up buying jewelry from Grandma and all the aunts, cousins and nieces (gringo). But I also got to meet some of the people in the village and learn a little bit more about them. very nice people. click here to see all the fotos from Pucallpa




So what's next? Who knows? I am trying to formulate a plan, guess I didn't think too far ahead. As for now, I will probably be in the Chicago area for about a week sorting things out and trying to recover from culture shock. I will be waiting for my new laptop to replace the one that was stolen and I did get a new L series canon lens (for you non photographers like me, L series is a good lens ) so maybe I will go on a photo shoot of the states. Oh ya, right, i don't have a car and it is very difficult to get around the States without a car. I do have quite a bit of work "finishing" my photos, so I will be working on them quite a bit.

Anyway, stayed tuned for the next leg of my journey! As always I hope all is well.

Cheers,

Dave fotosbydavid.com



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

shipiboshipibo
shipibo

god and beer


23rd May 2007

awesome pics
mate once again..absolute pleasure going through your photographs..keep me in the loop with things..all the best dave..larry
23rd May 2007

Welcome home Dave!
Welcome back to the USA. I am returning to Lima from BsAs at the moment. (stuck in eze right now) Well glad to hear you made it home safe. See you down here or perhaps in SE Asia one of these months! ciao ps. great photos of the shipies

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb