Puno, Lake Titicaca


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno » Lake Titicaca
April 13th 2011
Published: April 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I´m a little late to and am sorry for have neglecting my blog, but here is the story of Puno.

Siham & I decided to take a weekend trip to Puno, Peru. Puno is a port on Lake Titicaca. Lake Titicaca seperates Peru & Bolivia. It is huge and home to many islands, natural & man-made.

It's an 8 hour bus ride from Cusco to Puno. We opted for the night bus so that we'd be able to sleep on the way. We left Wednesday night and arrived at dawn on Thursday. After getting situated in Puno we headed off for a delicious breakfast and then to the lake.

Alongside the road to the lake there is a market full of everything you can imagine. There were tons of textiles, dyes and jewelry, among much more. It was nice to look around. It was a very colorful place. We joined a tour to Isla Uros, a community of about 70 man-made islands.

Upon our arrival at Isla Uros we were greeted by the native women and a gentleman who would be teaching us about Lake Titicaca and Isla Uros.

Our guide gave us an overview of all the Islands and ports on Lake Titicaca.

Some believe that the Inca's were born out of Lake Titicaca.

It's an absolutely beautiful place.

After meeting with the natives we spent the rest of our time on the lake sailing to the smaller islands where we were able to talk with other locals and enjoy the sun.

We had a fabulous dinner at Cafe Colors. It was by far one of the best meals I've had throughout my travels. We finished the evening at a Rasta bar, Bob Marley themed. It was a nice place to kick back & relax.

Friday we went back out on the lake to catch some sun. We lucked out and found paddleboats as well.

Lake Titicaca is truly one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. I will put up pictures as soon as possible, they are all breathtaking and still, I don't think they completely capture & justify the essence and scene of the Lake.

It was an awesome trip and I'm very happy that I was able to make it there before leaving Peru.



(I can´t upload photos here, but if you have Facebook, check them out there under the album ¨back paddle¨)

Advertisement



19th April 2011

Titicaca company
Hi! Sounds amazing. I'm heading that way myself and wondered if you could recommend your tour company to titicaca. Any favorable accommodations in Puno? Thanks so much!!!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb