The lake with the funny name and being American


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno » Lake Titicaca
August 17th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

UrosUrosUros

Floating Islands of the Uros
From Puno I visited some islands in the middle of Lake Titicaca. We left in the morning to these crazy islands made out of reeds. It was really neat but some of us didn't believe that the islands were real. It did almost feel like Disneyland but apparently these people had been living like this since Inca time when they sought isolation and retreated to the lake. After the Floating Islands of the Uros, we went to another island called Amantaní where everyone on the boat tour was assigned to a different family for the night. My family (who was really just one woman) feed me lunch then sent me up the hill to watch the sunset. We had really amazing views of Lake Titicaca and got to see some pre-Incan ruins. I had dinner after the sunset then went to bed shortly after. The next morning we went off to the island, Taquile. Here, we were encouraged to buy lots of things from the islanders. We had more lovely views of the lake and headed back to Puno.

In Puno, we (we being all the tourists trying to get to Bolivia from Puno) discovered that due to the referandum
UrosUrosUros

ISLANDS MADE OF REEDS!!?? WHAT!?
going on Bolivia, we be unable to travel there and should wait an extra day in Puno. This worried me a bit because I didn't want to get stuck in Bolivia with so little time left, but I decided to go anyway. The extra day in Puno gave me a chance to visit the Fertility Temple in Chucuito. Now what is that all about?

After hearing that everything was fine and dandy in Bolivia and there was in fact, no coup, I headed to La Paz Tuesday morning on a border crossing bus. Aware that I didn't actually have any cash on me, I was slightly worried about the whole paying $135 for a Bolivian visa thing. However, a random lady told me they accept credit cards so I figured I was fine. When we got to the border, all the Peruvians and Europeans filled out all their forms and got their passport stamps. I heard some Brits exclaiming how painless it was. When it was my turn (I guess I should explain that as of December 2007 US citizens require a visa to enter Bolivia, and it costs $135), they sent me to a special table then asked
AmantaníAmantaníAmantaní

From Pachamama
if I had the plata...the cash. Oh wait, you DON'T take visa? Silly me. I have no money. Can I still come into your country? No, not really. So feeling like an idiot I was sent out of the immigration office in search of a place to change my traveler's checks. Everyone else on my border cross bus had gotten their stamps and they were ready to go so I grabbed my backpack and told them to continue with out me. I crossed back over to the Peruvian side of the border and got the plata. When I tried to pay the Bolivian immigration officials they didn't like the look of the money I gave them. Apparently they don't like dollars that are creased. They finally accepted it and told me to fill out some forms. They then put some things in my passport, made me wait five minutes then came back and told me to go back to Peru and make two photo copies of the stuff they put in there. So I went back to Peru and made two photo copies of the stuff they put in there and crossed back to Bolivia. When I got back they
AmantaníAmantaníAmantaní

Pachatata from Pachamama
scribbled more stuff into my passport and finally gave it to me saying "y eso es". Jerks.

I walked out of the immigraton office and found myself a mini bus to La Paz. The ride was pleasant enough and the other passengers told me all about the places we were passing. I arrived in La Paz in the afternoon and checked into Loki, the best well known hostel in the city and had a beer, or few.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

TaquileTaquile
Taquile

Tranquilo Taquile
Temple de FertilidadTemple de Fertilidad
Temple de Fertilidad

Seriously, what was this place all about?


21st August 2008

baby
Awe poor baby you look so sad at the saltflats. Wish i could of been there for you. Your pics are always awesome though! I hope your last days are better and the best ever.Today my mom and little cousins are up visiting.Iam trying to sk8 and paint more,and i got my drivers permit yesterday. Hooray! Your gonna get the biggest kiss on Wednesday.I cant wait! I love you sooo... much! I will seeya soon and a safe trip back home. Bye Kimi Pooh i luv you! Your Tai boy.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb