The bohemian beachside town of Mancora


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Piura » Máncora
September 27th 2009
Published: October 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

So we spent 4 days in the beautiful, relaxed and super-bohemian beachside town of Mancora. It was our first stop in Peru after spending a gruelling entire day on a bus to cross the border. We arrived late at night and racked up to a not so great hostal called Hostel Sol y Mar. The guidebooks rate it as value for money and a good place to stay. I disagree. It sounded like we were right next to a nightclub with boom boom boom coming through the walls until 1am and drunkards playing ping pong outside of our door until the small hours too. Although it would be a great place if you're wasted and can crash after partying all night, but I prefer somewhere a little quieter. Needless to say we moved on the very next morning to a beautiful hotel named Buena Vista. The staff there were super friendly, hot showers, pool, right on the beach. It was bliss!

On to Mancora itself, as I said, it is so bohemian there. It is full of young people here on their holidays, learning to surf, making and selling beautifully crafted jewellery, crafts and so on. Seeing how these guys live, just travelling with their crafts selling them in little towns as they go, relaxing on the beach, making many friends, really enjoying life, it makes me want to jack my plans in and just live the bohemian life!!

It is so friendly here too. I was casually writing in my diary to Steve on the patio of Angelas place and a Brazilian guy came and joined me with his travelling guitar. He played to me, made me an origami lotus flower, did some magic tricks and we chatted for what seemed like hours. Also, when I asked some guys at a jewellery stand where I might find some havainas one of them offered to help me look. He showed me around for a good hour, trapsing around shops. All for nothing. Just to help. I can't get over the altruism in this country!!

There's also a great vegetarian cafe called Angelas place, selling wholefoods as well, with many vegan options, so I was a happy bunny here! The galletas and apple strudel are amazing!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb