The eye of bad luck


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto » Iquitos
October 26th 2006
Published: November 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

19th October- 21st October: Lima
21st October- 25th October : Iquitos
25th October- 26th October: triborder (Peru, Columbia, Brazil)





I stopped in Lima long enough to get my Brazilian visa...for the second time! how my plans have changed on this holiday.. have doubled my initial holiday period..i promise i will come back...maybe next year! I dropped my passport on friday morning, hoping to pick it up before the weekend...though warned that it would be unlikely. The old woman comes out in the afternoon, and says in english ìm sorry'. Thinkin i was stuck for the weekend, she then produces my passport from behind her back and gives me the biggest grin..have to love her!!





Flew straight to Iquitos. the biggest city that has no roads leading into it. Can only get there by boat or plane. It is the basin for the Peruvian Amazon.





It was like Thailand in the jungle, with touk touks roaming around. Humidity ruling supreme, and alot of hookers. Stayed at hostel called Hubo Hideout, decked with dead preserved remains of various animals....smelt like it too.





Having
honk honkhonk honkhonk honk

touk touks of SA
decided to experience the amazon river on the Peruvian side, i bought my hammock, and got on a boat with the locals and was destined to spend the next two days lolling in my hammock crammed next to a hundred peruvians. However, before the boat even leaves, some asshole grabs my bag and with the aid of a friend, he steals my video camera. I had no control over it. I left the boat and took the guy to the useless police who were not able to do anything! And he walked free to go and pick up the video camera from his friend no doubt!





Decided to get the next fastest boat out of there. It was as though i had been struck with the eye of bad luck, as i was aked to get off when the boat was struggling. Being the last passenger, they thought it was an issue of weight. Ended up staying with the family of the guy who took me off the boat. And went out for drinks with one of his cute female workers...so not all bad.





Made it across to the border in 8 hours, the triborder, where i would be in Peru one minute, Sleeping in Columbia 10 minutes later, then can stroll across to brazil within 5 minutes...very cool!!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb