Peru & Bolivia 2012


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
April 4th 2012
Published: April 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Peru & Bolivia Itinerary


Packing with Mr. BillPacking with Mr. BillPacking with Mr. Bill

first pack attempt. Still missing some things, but it's looking a bit full. hmmmm
OK so I haven't technically departed as of yet, but I figured since I am sorting through all of my travel related materials right now anyway, I would take this opportunity to get the blog started.
I'm currently sorting through my packing list, trying to identify items that I could really do without. I have always tried to avoid checked baggage at all costs, and so far have been pretty successfull since deciding to purchase a travel bag that just fits within most international airlines size restrictions. (Provided I don't stuff it full of extra crap!)
For me it would be a huge hassle to have to deal with lost luggage with only a few days in my arrival city to wait around for it to (hopefully) be returned by the airline, and frankly I don't want to spend my free time going on a shopping trip to replace necesities that may be arriving on the next plane.

So here I am, trying to determine how badly I want my travel hair dryer, if I'm willing to pack another electronic item (Kindle) to avoid taking large books, and how many t-shirts and pants do I really need anyway. (Anyone that knows me understand that this is the most difficult decision of all.)But I can't help but feel like I'm missing something.

I'm notorious for going a bit overboard preparing for even a week long vacation, so I'm starting to suspect that it's due to the fact that I'm not responsible for coordinating the majority of my transport or accommodation, that is leading to my uneasiness. Just a little OCD maybe?

To clarify, I've decided to travel with a tour for the first 3 weeks of my trip. (I know, I know, why would I take a tour right?) For the following reasons;
1. It's my first trip on my own as I suffer a mild case of anxiety being 100% by myself for too long. I'm working on it, but baby steps. Going to south america by myself was a huge step already.
2. Also I am trying to force myself into handing some of the responsibility over to someone else for awhile and give my inner control freak a bit of a break. (If that actually works is left to be seen, people have joked I'll be running the tour by the end of it.)

So of course I've turned my focus on things I can still control; baggage, making sure all my documents are in order, double checking budget, and of course reading multiple travel blogs about the places I'm about to visit, which eventually brought me here. 😊

So yeah, blah blah blah get on with the travel part right? Well stay tuned......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb