Maca Processing Plant


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
September 16th 2011
Published: September 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Maca PlantMaca PlantMaca Plant

Entrance to Maca Plant
I took yesterday off to get my laundry done, grocery shopping and a little gift shopping at the Inca market. I did take several photos while walking about.

Today has been an experience. As usual Martin was late to pick me up. We are on our way to his Maca processing plant. The plant is on the outskirts of Miraflores, a twenty minute drive. Of course Janina was riding shotgun. We joke people think I am her father. She is blond and very white. Yanina is from Uruguay. Uruguay has a large population of north Italian descendants.

As we arrive at the plant we are met by the manager and assistant to robe us in sanitary coats, hair net and mask. This is one of two plants, this one to clean, grind, gelatanize and package in bulk, one kilo to 10 kilo bags. The second plant is the lab, super sanitary conditions where they package in the different forms and do analysis on the product. I will not try to explain the different machines. The end result is we get the best Maca available from Peru. Please follow the links from before to view all the photos. If you
Maca PlantMaca PlantMaca Plant

Bags of freshly harvested Maca, ready for processing.
did not save Snapfish before, be sure to save to favorites so you can view all the photos I have taken.

As I have mentioned in previous post Martin and Janina are to married in December. To my surprise I became a tag along to the wedding planner. It was interesting, I got to taste the food and cake to be served at the wedding.

Monday we are going to Ica, a four hour drive, south. We will stay three days, two nights. From here I can take a small plane to see the Nasca Lines and see the Oasis. I can't remember the name of the Oasis, will have after we visit. People from Miraflores visit here for the Sun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Maca PlantMaca Plant
Maca Plant

Me ready to enter plant.
Maca PlantMaca Plant
Maca Plant

Maca plant tour
Maca PlantMaca Plant
Maca Plant

Maca tour
Maca PlantMaca Plant
Maca Plant

Maca in bags
Maca PlantMaca Plant
Maca Plant

Maca ready to be shipped
At the wedding plannerAt the wedding planner
At the wedding planner

Planning the wedding
Wedding PlannerWedding Planner
Wedding Planner

Selection of sweets


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb