Ya salio el sol! I finally saw the sun in Lima!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima
July 11th 2012
Published: July 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Blue (ish) sky!Blue (ish) sky!Blue (ish) sky!

A view of Jicamarca with the bluest sky that I've seen so far!
First blog from South America! I've been in Lima for a week and life is good. It's winter here (60-70F) and always cloudy. Today, I finally saw the sun and a little bit of hazy blue sky and it was MARAVILLOSO!

I'll write more details later, but work is good, the people are very warm and welcoming, the food is quite tasty, the people I'm staying with are taking very good care of me, etc. Works days are loooong - I leave the house at 7:45am and get back around 7pm (unless I go out right after work and then don't get home until 10ish). I love going to the communities (it reminds me a lot of Tijuana!) and meeting the families, learning about the program, seeing another way of implementing community development. I'm working with the Nutrition and Health Office and accompanying two of the workers to their meetings, classes, and home visits in 2 different communities.


Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
Feliz cumpleanos!Feliz cumpleanos!Feliz cumpleanos!

Me with the community health workers in Paraiso, celebrating Marianela's birthday
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-languageƐ mso-fareast-languageƐ mso-bidi-languageƐ}


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Workshop on "Healthy Homes"Workshop on "Healthy Homes"
Workshop on "Healthy Homes"

Freddy giving a presentation to a group of moms regarding the elements of a healthy home.


11th July 2012

yeah!
Glad to see you are settling in. Did I tell you my friend who lived there JUST moved back to the U.S. after 15 months in Peru? Keep blogging, it will be nice to compare experiences <3
11th July 2012

Glad to see that you are doing well and having good experiences in community development. So happy for you!! :) un fuerte abrazo!!
11th July 2012

Blue Sky
Hi Monica! So glad you're blogging again - I LOVE to read your blogs and see your pictures. Now you don't seem quite so far away from home. Love you! Mom
11th July 2012

Saludos!!!!!!!
Hola Monica !!! Que tal, hace tiempo que no se de ti y ahora me entero que andas en Peru..... Que bien !!!!! Me gustaria saber mas de la labor que haces por alla,conociendote se que se trata de trabajo con comunidad pues se que te gusta . Espero poder saludarte un dia que vengas a tijuana y recuerda.....Tecate siempre espera que volvamos .......

Tot: 0.403s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb