Don't stop, baby I don't stop


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » San Isidro
November 18th 2007
Published: November 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Iglesia en la Plaza de ArmasIglesia en la Plaza de ArmasIglesia en la Plaza de Armas

(church in the central plaza)
Yes, I have been listening to the Rolling Stones, hence the title.

So, after our sandboarding adventure, one of the girls, Kelli, and I headed up the North Coast for a week (we had a week off from classes). We first went to the city of Trujillo, which is a pretty and quaint city. Around Trujillo are the centuries old ruins of Chan Chan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chan_Chan) and the Temples of the Sun and the Moon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huaca_de_la_Luna and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huaca_del_Sol). Both we were awesome to see; Chan Chan is SO huge and vast, it's hard to take it all in. After two days in Trujillo, we hopped on an overnight bus to Mancora, Peru's best known beach paradise.

Now, you may be wondering why I have included websites and no pictures. It is because while I was asleep on the bus to Mancora my backpack was cut open and my camera was stolen. It was in a locked compartment and the bag was between my feet, but I suppose that just wasn't enough protection. However, I made the best of the time left in Mancora and, over the course of the next four days, ate a lot of ceviche (raw fished 'cooked' in lime juice and served with onions and spices - delicious!) and started and finished the seventh Harry Potter book (which was AMAZING, of course). We spent Halloween night on a 17 hour bus ride back to Lima.

I was pretty excited to return to Lima and stay put for a while. Evidently I caught some sort of stomach bug or ate some bad food because I was pretty stomach sick for about two weeks. Luckily, I am feeling better now.

I have been trying to sightsee in Lima because I have only a month and a half left in Peru ( : (, where did the time go!?). This past Monday we went on a church tour in downtown Lima with our history professor. I have attached a few pictures from that. On Friday night I went to a peña (an interactive dance show) and got to see all of the tipical dances of Peru (from the coast, mountains, and jungle). It was sooo much fun and my friend Suzy and I plan on going to more in the near future. Also in future plans are a group Thanksgiving dinner on Wednesday night, field trips to impoverished areas in the city for my anthropology class, and as much other sight-seeing, restaurant-touring, and discoteca-visiting as I can fit in.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Nuestro grupoNuestro grupo
Nuestro grupo

Prof. Aljovin, Kelli, Claire, y Klaas
Un techo marvillosoUn techo marvilloso
Un techo marvilloso

An amazing wooden ceiling in the convent we visited. Evidently the timber came from Central America
 Pasillo Lindo Pasillo Lindo
Pasillo Lindo

Pretty hallway
El jardinEl jardin
El jardin

Garden in the center of the convent
La luzLa luz
La luz

The light coming through the window was too pretty not to take a picture
La catedral central La catedral central
La catedral central

Central cathedral in the convent.
Iglesia de Santo DomingoIglesia de Santo Domingo
Iglesia de Santo Domingo

Too bad it is under construction; the building itself is stunning.


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb