South America, Day 3: Lima, Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
July 30th 2014
Published: July 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Buenos Dias, or Buenos Noches depending on where you are! I wasn't going to write today but I ended up doing a lot that I'll probably forget if I don't write it down soon. Today I took a tour around Lima with a tour group called Haku Tours. But before I even start talking about the tour I have to mention the amazing kitchen staff at my hotel, they not only provide you with toast, bread, fruit (the usual), but they also cook you breakfast (either fried eggs or an amazing omelet). So I'm getting very fat, very quickly! Anyway the tour group does tours for small groups of people that tour around Lima and a lot of their profit they make goes into helping the people in the shanty town in Lima. My tour guide's name was Marco, he showed me around Lima by taxi where we went to St Martin's square and then drove up to Apu Mountain which is where there is a shanty town. On top of the mountain is a lookout, but it was so foggy we couldn't see anything except for a massive cross on top which you could see from everywhere in the city. After that we went to a graveyard which is one of the biggest in Peru, most of the bodies were stored on top of each other in slots in walls. From there we explored more of the city where we went to some of the local markets..... Including a meat market. There were pigs heads, cow hearts, and octopuses! Apparently the Peruvian menu includes guinea pigs, cow hearts and even the odd cat 😞. I haven't had any of that (although might try guinea pig at some stage), but I did have some delicious chicken for lunch (and so full again!). After lunch my tour guide changed and I had someone called Daisy. She showed me more of the city where we got to explore the underground catacombs! Unfortunately we weren't allowed to take any photos down there but there were over 27 thousand bodies buried under the city in tunnels that run under the streets and churches and the bones were moved into groups eg. Femurs in one part, skulls in another, and a few were made into patterns. We visited some beautiful churches and palaces and had a churro for afternoon tea. The tour was so amazing and I learnt heaps. It was cool to see the shanty town side of Lima. It was a massive day so have to get some rest, adios and talk to you tomorrow 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



31st July 2014

Wow Melissa what am amazing day you had. How neat to see things that you haven't seen before. I love reading your blog. Have a good rest. Love you Melissa.
31st July 2014

Wow those photos areneat. The pigs made me laugh. Some are grouse the skulls. I just loved them all. I found it so interesting to see what an amazing place Lima is. Melissa it was neat to have you in the photos it makes it more interesting and you can see the proportion of everything. Snowbee sits outside your door waiting for you. I really miss you Melissa. Love Mum.
1st August 2014

To mum
Thanks, yeah I took lots of photos yesterday, may not be able to do it all the time as it actually takes an hour or two to upload them, back them up on a memory stick and to write the blog. Plus I need a computer to do it so won't be able to do it all the time.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb