And the adventure begins....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
January 11th 2013
Published: January 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Sitting in the departures lounge at Gatwick airport for the first part of my journey to Lima was an interesting experience. A strange mix of excitement, terror and relief to be exchanging what the Daily Mail has described as imminent 'Russian' like weather conditions for 26 degrees and sunshine.

I probably shouldnt be worried, lots of people have travelled South America and come back alive with postive stories to tell. Although I will admit that certain 'friends' have got me slightly spooked with tales of travellers having their organs harvested, being used for ritual killings or as forced drug mules. Okay, maybe the ritual killings is a little far fetched.

Anyway, I'm currently sat in Madrid Barajas airport about to board my connecting flight to Lima. I think I may have learnt my first word in Spanish as Barajas I can only guess must translate to 'ghost town'. The airport supposedly has a full night's schedule of international flights yet nearly all of the shops are shut with only a small cafeteria serving cold, overpriced pasta with cheese on it (reminds me of the Moth Europeans in Silvaplana...). Definitely not an airport to recommend spending any length of time in.

The current plan is to spend a day exploring Lima before boarding a plane to Cusco for 2 weeks of intensive Spanish lessons. I really cant wait for this as I'll be staying in halls of residence at a Spanish college. Should be just like University surely?!

Good luck to everyone sailing the Bloody Mary this weekend, sounds like its going to be bloody freezing. Just like the insane year when all of my control lines froze and I had to wear a wetsuit inside a drysuit to survive. Andrew will probably be out in a shorty no doubt.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb