Be careful what you wish for


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I sat by the pool in Huacachina yesterday, enjoying the sun and the peace and quiet. The American girls I had met here have almost finished their trip so they´ve been to all the places I will be going to and they have done me a list of all their tips of the best places to go (best desert places featuring prominently!) and I looked at the bookmark my mum gave me before I left with that Irish blessing on it of "may the road rise to meet you, may the wind always be at your back" etc and I thought - well isn´t this all a bit too easy?

Everything has gone so smoothly so far and where´s the adventure in that? Where is the adventure in going to places which people have already told you are great, instead of finding the best places yourself as well as the truly appalling? I sat by the pool thinking that I needed to shake things up a bit...

Well I left Huacachina and went to Ica to catch the 5 hour bus back to Lima, to join my tour group (who I can´t find - but that´s another story!) I sat next to a young Dutch guy who was telling me about his travels so far and by the time he´d reached the part about being in Peru and we were about 10 minutes out of Ica I started to feel queasy. Within a couple of minutes I was horribly sick and continued to be so, off and on, for the next 2 hours. The bus was stuffy and packed full of people and bouncing all over the place. I felt hellish and just wanted to be at home in my bed. Finally I stopped being sick and we made it back to Lima. I had initially planned to just find a hostel for the night but feeling so rough I decided a more luxurious hotel would be better, and thought I´d head for the place where I´m meant to be meeting my tour group today. My taxi driver recommended another cheaper place to me so I agreed as I couldn´t face trawling round if my first choice was full. The place I stayed in was awful. Dirty, very noisy and felt very unsafe - so much so that I slept with the chair and my backpack up against the door and with all my valuables next to me in bed!

So, lesson learnt - there are enough tough times in life, I´m not going to go looking for them again!

Thankfully I feel loads better today, although absolutely starving. Now I just need to find out where my tour group are, who I was meant to meet here 30 mins ago....

More soon, hopefully from a smoother ride x

Advertisement



3rd July 2008

Hotels
The driver would have been on a kickback from the hotelier. How would he know what the hotels are like, unless he had stayed in them!? xxx
3rd July 2008

OK smarty pants
Yes I realise that, I just thought it would be fine for 1 night and I was in no fit state to trawl round searching or to start haggling. I just wanted my bed!
4th July 2008

Hey you
Well you certainly getting geared for the 30's luxury hotels and all that! Glad you are having a wonderful time.. chat soon. S

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb