Schools Out


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
December 3rd 2007
Published: December 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

A meeting of minds between the Brits and Americans! A meeting of minds between the Brits and Americans! A meeting of minds between the Brits and Americans!

Shame then really that the best our country could send were me and Chris!
Greetings All!

Well a lot can happen in a week, especially when you dont try. Since we last spoke I have become a Llama farmer and married a Peruanan gipsy woman called Mariella.

Clearly I am lying......I am working on the Llama farmer bit.

Last week Chris and I actually met our first English amigos out here, Jess has been out here for two years and speaks really good Spanish...I found this out when the school mistakenly put her in my class. Her and the teacher were basically conversing in Spanish...it went a tad over my head to be fair.

On Wednesday we had another cooking class and this time there were seven of us! It was actually a really good laugh and a few of us went out for beers to wait for it....´The Old Pub´. Yes thats right even in Lima they have an English pub! Still it was a good laugh though!

Feeling a bit jaded on the Thursday I somehow managed to get me and chris invited to a typical Peruvian singing and dancing night on the Thurs nt. Now i thought this was just in a large hall etc....you can imagine
Graduation Day!Graduation Day!Graduation Day!

Yippee the last day of School!
how daft we felt when we turned up to a small hall full of 200 Peruvian people aged over 50 all dressed up to the nines as it was being filmed for a TV programme! The dancing was cool but the singing was the Peruvian equivalent of Celine Dion and to make it worse the camera crew kept panning on the crowd....now me and Chris were the only under 50, scruffily dressed non peruvians there...to say we stuck out a tad is an understatement. To say Chris was a bit miffed with me for getting us in that situation is also an understatement! The presenter was even mingling in the crowd talking to the audience during the takes....my god how dumb would we have looked if he´d spoke to us!
Still the programme went out this weekend so I guess we will have to just sit back and wait for the media attention!

On Friday we finished school and its was a really nice send off with pics and signing books etc...does´nt feel like we have only been there two weeks! To celebrate we went out clubbiing on Friday night....cue more bad Salsa dancing....I mean it gang this will
Technicolour Fountains!Technicolour Fountains!Technicolour Fountains!

Brad and Ben have arrived...Chris isnt in this photo because he was running from fountain to fountain taking pics....i can honestly say i dont think ive ever seen him more excited!
not become a regular occurrence! Didnt get in til 6am, try apologising for waking somebody up when you are tired and drunk in another language...it aint easy!

All good though Brad and Ben have arrived now and I said my goodbyes to my family (at least I think thats what I said!) We went to a fountain park the first night where they play music and beam lights onto the fountains and it holds the world record for the highest fountain...80 metres...cool huh!! Well balls to you you had to be there!

So the real adventure begins here! Whats that i hear you say Will these blogs now get more interesting......doubtful

Well best dash im off to hang 10 for my first surfing lesson...gnarly dudes!! ( hey wait there arent any sharks off the coast of Lima are there?!)

Maybe till next time......Surfs Up!! Dont work too hard me amigos!!










Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

This one is for you RobinThis one is for you Robin
This one is for you Robin

This literally translates to ´Always the Same´
Me and Elvira having a spot of lunch!Me and Elvira having a spot of lunch!
Me and Elvira having a spot of lunch!

I took Elvira out to thank her for her hospitality! Aren´t I nice!
Cool Photo Huh!Cool Photo Huh!
Cool Photo Huh!

Its a fountain with lights beemed onto it! Ok so its much cooler than it sounds!


5th December 2007

Nice Couple!
You and Elvira look so cute on your date!

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb