Lima!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
April 14th 2012
Published: April 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I'm finaly here! (Sorry mom and dad for not checking in last night.) In all honesty the flight went pretty smooth. I'm certain the fact I was flying business class from ATL - LIM made a huge difference. (Thank you daddy!)

So I had a good nap on the way over, which I'm thankfull for, because when I finally arrived at the hotel in the middle of the night, I was greeted by a jackhammer outside the front entrance, that kept going until around 4 am. (It's actually going right now again as I type this.) Needless to say I didn't sleep more then maybe 3 1/2 hours, between the noise and the rock hard bed haha.

I'll admit I wasn't feeling too optimistic when I settled in last night, as the neighbourhood also looked a bit sketch when I rolled in, but as soon as I left my room this morning the anxiousness all washed away.

It was a beautiful sunny day today, which was perfect, as I had scheduled to do a bike tour of the bay area and apparently it's usually very foggy in the morning. We just caught the tail end of the fog rolling in at the end of the tour, but it was nice after being out in the sun all day and it actually looked pretty cool!
After the tour I was feeling pretty tired having only rested a short while, but managed to check out some ruins in the middle of town with someone else from my bike tour before heading back to my hotel.

I already have my first sunburn though. It looks kind of like a red bandana on my chest and the tops of my hand are aching just typing this out. I'm pretty sure I burnt my eyes a bit too (Can you do that?) because they are looking a bit bloodshot, but it doesn't seem that anyone else notices. (Thank god, because I didn't need another repeat of Germany when I woke up looking like the spawn of satan!)

Other then that, I managed to get a little lost after my first attempt using public transit, and had to be saved by a little old lady from certain death crossing the road. (People seem to feel that red lights are just a suggestion around here.) Eventually I got back though, thanks to a friendly brazilian, that helped me find my way back. 😊

Tomorrow I'll be meeting my tour group in the afternoon and will maybe take a stroll around the area to find some sunglasses for my poor eyes! haha

AdiĆ³s por ahora!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Cathedral of LimaCathedral of Lima
Cathedral of Lima

Making the best of being slightly lost


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb