You have sand where?!?!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Ica
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The BuggyThe BuggyThe Buggy

This thing can hum along those dunes. I have some video of us jumpin up and down those dunes, hundreds of feet high. It was AWESOME!
After returning from the Nazca lines the three of us decided to go sandsurfing in the nearby dunes. The sand dunes in this area are considered the largest in the world. This was the most fun EVER! Sandboarding standing up proved a bit too tough for me so I opted for the laying down kind. I ate SO MUCH DIRT! And there was sand in every where possible, but WHAT A DAY! I can not even imagine where else we could have done this. We also drove through some ancient burial areas -- they are everywhere out here. There were remains from the Nazca period (500-700A.D.) including bones, cloth and even HAIR! All preserved by the conditions of the desert.

I will be sleeping on an overnight bus tonight as I head back to Lima. My flight is tomorrow night at 11pm. I am thinking that I will take a city tour of Lima tomorrow and then do some souvenier shopping before heading to the airport. I can not believe this trip is almost over. Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Getting Ready...Getting Ready...
Getting Ready...

On your mark, get set...
Gooooooooooooooooo!Gooooooooooooooooo!
Gooooooooooooooooo!

This was such an amazing experience. Where else can you do this? Truly, the most fun day of the trip!
Dem bones dem bonesDem bones dem bones
Dem bones dem bones

dem head bones...there are litterly thousands of bones just littering the dessert...all from the nazca period.
Amazing sunsetAmazing sunset
Amazing sunset

we were fortunate enough to see this beautiful sunset on the desert. WOW!


26th June 2008

Amazing
What an amazing trip. Unbelievable the things you were able to see and experience. I can't wait to see all the pictures. Glad you are feeling better and have a safe trip home. Beth
27th June 2008

Sand...
Who would have thought? That looks like so much fun, wish I was there!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb