Life in the Desert


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Huacachina
February 1st 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a beautiful Oasis Huacachina is turning out to be! Originally I intended only a few nights but time is slipping by so quickly I think I´m gonna kick around until my birthday. Yesterday was another crazy hot day in teh desert. I did what I do best and lounged around by the pool for most of the day.
When The sun was finally starting to go down I went on a dune buggy tour with the couple from England that I´m still travelling with. The driver was fearless and would climb the steepest dunes and then make tight corners right near the top before he came screeching back down again. At other times he´d rev up the buggy and fly over the dunes like nothing, causing everyone to loose their stomac´s. It was an awesom ride and I´d do it again in a second!
With the dune buggy ride we also got to test out our skills at sand boarding. I thought it would be similar to snowboarding and stapped myself in and took off down an easy dune. It´s completly different. The board doesn´t allow any carving so you basically have to go straite or diagonally down the whole way. Elle was the first to go down on her stomac. It looked like an awesom ride so everytime after that I did it too. On one particular dune there were a series of three lips and i hit them at full speed. After the first one and crashing onto my belly a little more forcefully then I woul´d´ve intended, I thought it might be a good idea to slow down a little. Of course, I didn´t wanna miss any air from the other lips so i hit ´em all at full tilt and by the third one all the wind was knocked from my lungs. Apparently after watching me jump the lips, I discouraged everyone else from doing the same thing and they all wimped out and hit the lips way slower than I did. Ah well, I´m no worse for the wear and I get the staisfaction of remembering how high I was launched into the air on a sandboard.
Today was pretty laid back. After discovering that I look like a tomatoe I thought it would be a good idea to boycott the sun for awhile. Instead I ended up waiting with Elle and Martin in the hospital in Ica (5km west) for two hours because he put his back out sandboarding (I never said it was safe, you just gotta know how to ride). After we got it straitend out (no pun intendended) we sipped on pisco sours (a tequilla-like drink) and headed back to Huacachina. Can´t wait for tomorrow´s adventures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



5th February 2007

hey!!!
You look like you are having the time of your life!!! Take care and we all miss you Maryann
11th February 2007

fun to read
Hi Pegs, thanks so much for your blog. It is so much fun to read! Much love and happy belated birthday from Penticton. Love Auntie Al

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb