Lima-Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
November 21st 2016
Published: November 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Woke up in Cusco this morning and while having breaakfast on the roof of the hotel had to pinch myself ...I´m in Cusco ! 2 days away from Machu Pichu .



Before I say more I must say I enjoyed Lima a great deal . Staying in Barranco was a great choice with many things to see and do . The Peruvians were very kind and the ambiance was pretty easy , It is to bad I didn; t get much time in the Centrtro Historico but so it goes . I did get to see some great Museums and galleries most notible the Museo Nacional de Arqueologica Antropologia e Historia del Peru . It is huge and traces the history of the country from pre-hispanic times to colonial and republican times . Our growth and development as a country was so easy !

Saturday morning I again walked on the malecon 2 blocks from the hotel and ended up down at the square having some of the tartest cebiche ever . It was very good though and as it was mixed seafood . I learned to really enjoy the callimare and assorted other criters but found the octopus toooo tough .

Then it was off to the next hotel to meet the group . This hotel was again close to a malecon but I do confess I never went down to the beach . That would involve going down the equivalent of 6-10 stories of stairs and then having to climb back up again ... no...for a stony and not inviting beach I chose to pass.

The group seems friendly enough . Mostly 30 year olds 4 in their 40;s and myself . 5 Aussies ,2 Swiss ,1 German ,2 Welsh ,1 Irish 1 American 1 Brit and myself . One fellow has not shown up and they have no idea where he could be...

We flew to Cusco yesterday morning and it was a wonder to see the Andes unfolding below us . Stark pinnacles and waves of mountain ridges with absolutely nothing to soften the features . Awesome .Cusco itself is in a valley and it is quite green . Agriculture is a big industry and they grow something like 30 different kinds of potatoes , many of which they freeze overnight then dry them to use for cooking and baking . We checked into our hotel and then proceeded to walk about for the next 5 hours with a break for lunch ( I had Alpaca , an amazing piece of tender meat). A good intro to the city which does deserve it,s UNESCO heritage status. I have found it curious here and in Lima that the churches are seldom open . Not sure why as they contain so much history but that has been the case .

Anyway enough for now . Time to head out .

Hope all is well .

Advertisement



21st November 2016

All is well
Hi Pam All is well at my house and at yours. All remaining fish thrive. No snow here yet. Have a fun tour. Let those youngsters pamper you a bit, eh?
22nd November 2016

Adventure in Cusco
Pam, I need to get out a map and follow you more closely. We are off to Atlanta tomorrow and will show Adam & Sarah where you are on the big globe we got them. What you are describing sounds both rugged and beautiful. All is well here, had a busy day baking for the weekend and do look forward to all 12 of us being together Friday & Sat. Yesterday I talked to Lionel to wish him a happy birthday. They had all the kids there with the exception of Matt & Carman, even Elliot. It looks like Elliot and her husband are moving back to Sask to LaRongue. Travel safe, will be in touch again soon. Love, D
22nd November 2016

Wonderful
It sounds impressive, Pam! And, you're in Cusco!!! I can't wait for the photos. Safe travels!

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb