Peru-Machu Picchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
February 9th 2014
Published: February 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post


All of a sudden the climate got tropical :)
With two newly found friends in tow, I finally managed to make my way to Machu Picchu. We took a bus from Cusco to the Central Machupicchu Hydroelectric Plant. From there we walked along the train tracks through the picturesque landscape of wild rivers and towering mountains to the town of Aguas Calientes where we were once again struck by the beauty of our surroundings, wishing we had arranged for a longer stay in this beautiful spot so far from the rest of the world. Alas, after three hours of sleep preceded by beer and pisco sour (bad call btw) and succeed by the absence of a promised breakfast, we proceeded to march towards the foot of the mountain together with a group of other sleepy-eyed wanderers. As it was only four in the morning we were walking in pitch darkness which helped set the mystical mood I believe we were all hoping for. However, deep puddles proved an issue. The hike up was tough, especially on an empty stomach, but I am proud to say that I reached the summit in an hour (and as I did so I swore never again to climb a flight of stairs). And though
I had seen the mountain in pictures before the awe-inspiring image before me took me by surprise. We spent a few hours on the mountain soaking it all up before finally descending and taking a bus back to Cusco, and although our stay in Aguas Calientes and Machu Picchu was short, it sure was sweet and I wouldn't have done it any other way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement




Walking along the train tracks to Aguas Calientes





Searching for our pot o' gold


Inca Sid!!


Next day. Almost there


No more steps...


Made it!


Huayna Picchu




Sacrificial altar







Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb