Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, Cuzco (first day)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
May 7th 2011
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After landing in Cuzco, we left the airport and drove by bus to the Sacred Valley. We spent two nights at a lovely hotel in Urubamba and visited the area. Our visit included some Inca sites, a local market, rafting on the Urubamba River, a visit to the famous Seminario pottery workshop and a home-hosted lunch with a local family. Please see photos for details.
Then we boarded the train in Ollantaytambo for the two-hour trip up to Aguas Calientes, the small town below Aguas Calientes. From there, we took a local bus up to the site of Machu Pichu, which we visited from 2 to 5 in the afternoon. This enabled us to see the sun set, and there were fewer people than earlier in the day. Marco is recognized here as a very knowledgeable and qualified guide, so we learned a lot about the latest research on the Incas and their culture.The whole site is truly magnificent as I´m sure you imagine. We slept that night in a small, family hotel and were up at Machu Picchu again by 6;15 to see the sunrise. After that, we walked to the Inca Bridge and the Sun Gate--a total of about 8 kms. Then back down the mountain to Aguas Calientes and a train ride back to Ollantaytambo. From there, we drove two hours by bus to Cuzco.
Today was our first visit of Cuzco (see photos). We´ll be here for 4 nights, and then we´re driving down to Puno and Lake Titiccaca.
I´m having a marvelous time. Marco is a terrific guide, and the members of the OAT group are all very nice. The weather has been perfect--warm, no rain, just a few lovely white clouds from time to time. And, so far, I haven´t suffered from altitude sickness, probably because I decided to take Diamox. (which I didn´t take in Tibet 2 years ago and regretted it afterwards because I had terrible headaches.) Only one mishap so far: I must have lost my neck bag in the streets of Ollantaytambo. I only had about $30 in it, but it also contained the keys to the locks of my suitcase and small duffle bag. Fortunately, the bell-boy of my hotel was able to break open the locks by filing them and using a pliers.
That´s all for now. I´ll write again soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



8th May 2011

Great review of your trip and photos!
Glad you're having a good trip. Your remarks and photos remind me of my Peru trip about 15 years ago. I may have stayed in that same hotel in the Sacred Valley. I remember chewing cocoa leaves in order to have the energy to climb up to the ruins near there. Your guinea pig looks better nourished than the one they served me!
8th May 2011

Greetings from Paris
Seeing these photos brings back memories of my trip to M.P., Sacred Valley, Cuzco... in 2001. Glad you had both sunset and sunrise visits to M.P. as we discussed when you were planning your trip. I'm about to leave Paris, after a gorgeous sunny month, IDF walks every Wednesday, Dufy exhibit with Marylynne, other wonderful activities. Thanks for lovely blog entry. e.
8th May 2011

Quick word
Very much enjoying your blog as usual Hilary. Hope the last few days are as nice as the rest. Ciao for now. Peter
11th May 2011

YOU MADE IT!
How exciting! Congratulations! Fantastic photos! Thank you for sharing the experience! hugs from Elaine

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb