Inca Ruins in Ollantaytambo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Ollantaytambo
February 24th 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BeginBeginBegin

Through the walls and at foot of Inca site
What is it with Inca ruins in February? First sun, then clouds and rain and shelter in a thatched cottage....
Tip, get there before two o´clock because that is when the fleet of tour buses arrive and you will share a thin path with a dozen people and guide going the in opposite direction. I got the partial ticket for 70 soles, which is about $25, I think. I have two days, today and tomorrow to see four attractions. I will settle for these ruins and the ones in Moray if I can get a taxi there tomorrow.
The first bit of the hike is steep, and I stopped several times. Once you are up, there are a few inclines to get up if you want to see the settlement ruins. Nice view of the town and mountains, though I prefered the views from the free side. It was good to take photos of the other side where I had hiked, and the carved face in the bedrock.
I had less than an hour of quiet time, and then many tourists groups came; with the dominant tour language being Spanish. (no freebie tidbits of knowledge to overhear) And then
MapMapMap

Seems simple enough
came the clouds, and sprinkles, and rain. I timed it fairly well, being almost down when the real rain was making the stones slippery. I passed rainbow-coloured tourists and headed to an overhanging roof to wait for the sun to take over. You would think there would be rainbows today, the conditions are right for them.
NEXT DAY
Time to go. I bought the partial tourist ticket for 70 soles and it is good for four tourist attractions within two days. What was I thinking?? To get one more bang for my buck I have to take a taxi to Moray, the Inca circluar terrances for seed development. A traveler from Argentina recommended it as a ´must see´. The taxi is 120 soles, and takes you there, waits for your visit and then either returns you to Ollantaytambo or Cusco. For that money I had better make that move back to Cusco city today. Maybe I can return in a week or so? Hope so....I will miss this place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

StepsSteps
Steps

If nothing else, this is good exercise
LookOffLookOff
LookOff

Looking over valley, towards MachuPicchu way
Temple of SunTemple of Sun
Temple of Sun

What is left of it
Side viewSide view
Side view

Bumps must have meaning...
ArtefactsArtefacts
Artefacts

Bet this had some meaning centuries ago
TownTown
Town

Looking over town, towards Urubamba way
UpwardsUpwards
Upwards

Buildings up past Sun Temple
SignSign
Sign

Got the message
TallTall
Tall

This building would be quite tall with thatched roof
EdgeEdge
Edge

This is the western end of the settlement, though there was a path that continued on
BullringBullring
Bullring

I can see part of the bullring below
Fertile ValleyFertile Valley
Fertile Valley

I wonder if they ever reached maximum carrying capacity, in terms of food produced per person?
FewFew
Few

Very few people so far. I met a couple from Holland who were here yesterday and learned about some of the buildings.
No GoNo Go
No Go

Path was roped off, guess it is too sleep....the whimps
ArmsArms
Arms

Note the arms are covered to prevent more burn
TourTour
Tour

Eeeeegads, the tour groups are beginning to arrive, better move it
Go SlowGo Slow
Go Slow

I can´t! The tourists are arriving on mass
NorthNorth
North

Path heads north along mountain side
SkySky
Sky

Nice sky....didn´t last long


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb