Heaven is Ollantaytambo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Ollantaytambo
February 16th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Paradise hereParadise hereParadise here

K B Tambo Hostel is THAT close to Inca ruins. See the thatched upbrella? That is the rooftop garden when I´ll spend the evening when the sun cools down.
I must have died and gone to heaven. I´m in the Peru version of Banff, surrounded by Inca buildings, in blasting hot weather, booked into a jewel of a hostel, and in an Interet cafe with fast computers!! At this point I am thinking....´MachuPicchu who?´ I want to stay here. In fact, I´m taking an overnight bag to A.C., running up that Machu hill, and coming back here. I´ve picked a room, and if it is free I´m booking it for 3 to 5 days.
I couldn´t have imagined a better place to stop, and sit, and totally chill. Well, the hostel rents mountain bikes and the owner is keen to show you where to zip to....if I get sick of sitting on the rooftop cafe, I might get energetic and explore the area.
At the moment it is too damn hot to walk around, and I´m taking the time to share photos of heaven with you. Ollantantaytambo seems to be a mixture of cowboy town, Inca settlement with a layer of tourist things to keep you well fed and amused. With all of that, there is something wonderful about this place. There is peace to find and enjoy.
Wish you
Private gardenPrivate gardenPrivate garden

My room is the one with blue cover. Yup, it has two beds and private bathroom.
were here, all you buddies in the Northern Hemisphere.
Oh, and this will cause me to lose friends.....the room is $20 u.s. a night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bedroom viewBedroom view
Bedroom view

I can´t wait to wake up here
HummingbirdsHummingbirds
Hummingbirds

The hummingbirds are here with me. I saw one in the fuccia.
Look upLook up
Look up

This is the view from the hostel, if you stand on the stairs in the garden.
Inca PresenceInca Presence
Inca Presence

Every hill around hostel has Inca buildings.
Front cafeFront cafe
Front cafe

The hostel has a cafe. This is the view from the outside table. Food smells wonderfull
Chinese Chinese
Chinese

Across the other street there is a chinese restaurant. A quick walk around the square this afternoon and I found many places to try.
IncaInca
Inca

The centre Plaza is a few hundred metres from hostel.
Statue SeesStatue Sees
Statue Sees

This is the view in front of the Inca statue
SunflowersSunflowers
Sunflowers

The plaza garden has lots of flowers and trees for shade
CafeCafe
Cafe

Some cafes are inside the walls.
Tour busTour bus
Tour bus

Going down hill towards the train station.
BusBus
Bus

These tourists must be going to the ruins
PlazaPlaza
Plaza

When you come out of the corner shop, look up.
ProtectionProtection
Protection

The house statues up close
RiverRiver
River

A few metre downhill from hostel is a rushing river. I wonder if I can hear it at night?
BridgeBridge
Bridge

This bridge takes traffic to the Inca site.
DownhillDownhill
Downhill

Water flows this way
ParkPark
Park

There is a bit of a park beside river
HorseHorse
Horse

This is the road entering Ollantaytambo. The horse makes it feel a bit like Banff
ApproachApproach
Approach

As the bus approached the town, the mountains seems to stand out even more. The glaciers add majesty to mountains
Sacred ValleySacred Valley
Sacred Valley

Look how lush the valley is; no wonder they call it sacred. Great to drive through it in the sun.
Tourist siteTourist site
Tourist site

Tour buses stop here for the photo opt. What a view, eh?


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb