Peru Trip


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
November 8th 2009
Published: November 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunday November 8, 2009 - Macchu Picchu

I still can´t quite believe that the whole reason for me becoming interested in doing this trek and wanting to come to Peru has come and gone. I don´t think it will really sink in until I´m on the plane back home, flicking through the photos on my camera with the whole journey behind me...

The last day of the journey to Macchu Picchu began early, very early. Following our last games of Uno and dinner, we retired early (I still hadn´t washed though the wet wipes I had were a suitable substitute!) so that we were energised and ready for the final trek into Macchu Picchu and to of course spend time there.

My alarm went off at 4:00am and it was a mad rush for everyone to be dressed, fed and packed up so the porters could begin their trek into Aguas Calientes, a small town located down the mountainside from Macchu Picchu where our duffle bags would await us - some porters would return home to rest whilst others went straight into another 4 day Inca Trail!!

We queue not far from the front of the gate that would open at 5:30am and see the march of 250 or so tourists into the lost city of the Incas.

Although the scenery along the way was stunning and the path flat enough that we weren´t out of breath to take a photo, the surge of the masses behind us meant that any photos taken would have to be done on the go!

Weaving along the path, the anticipation to finally get there is building and before we get too excited, the"Gringo Killer" appears. A set of extremely high steps that lead to the Sun Gate are the last hurdle before Machhu Picchu and with bravodo, gusto and will to beat a competitive Brit we met along the way, I mis-judge a step and whack my shin into the centuries old stone step. Ouch.

Undeterred, I reach the top and make my way through the crowd to set my eyes upon the stone city and terraces situated on top of a mountain hugged by wisps of morning clouds and lit by an early sun. Though it was there in front of me, I still knew there was a little way to go...

Again, Elias knew of a better, un-crowded location for us to take a photo of Macchu Picchu (each of us in the foreground of course!).

Unfortunately, there were some impatient souls but we all knew that MP wasnt going anywhere so we waited until the bulk ofthe crowd had passed - including the Aussies and other Intrepid Trekkers we shared a few beers with the night before (I did get a little pissy off very little!!).

Not long after, we arrived. I couldn´t believe it, there below the terrace we stood on, was Macchu Picchu. So distracted by the awe of this place and surreal sensation that I was here, I took a while to realise that the others had already arrived via train and bus to the site. Standing on the terrace immediately beneath us, Kim, Stephen (on his 50th birthday), Aine, Megan and Kath had broad smiles on their faces as we must also have had.

We took photos of the whole group and of the four Inca Trail Trekkers and following a bit of red tape, went on a guided tour of Macchu Picchu.

Elias explained the theories behind the many buildings and the purpose of Macchu Picchu itself. With buildings suited and designed for farming, astronomy, religious worship and to mark the changing of the seasons, Elias believes that Macchu Picchu was perhaps a type of university or research centre situated between so many other Incan sites and used as a central focal point of research and worship.

Unfortunately, during the uncovering of the site, many buildings were destroyed due to the large growth of plant life that occured following the abandonement of the city during the downfall of the Incan Empire. There was also a monolith erected in the main square but it was removed at the request of the Peruvian goverment so that a Spanish prince could arrive there by helicopter?!?!?

Most of the buildings have been restored - some with original stones/bricks, others with new materials. regardless, the scope of what they achieved is not lost and the mystery of this place remains a discussion point for scholars and us regular folk alike.

The 90 minute tour ends quickly and we are left to explore the ruins at our leisure. Elias tells me that there are still some remaining spots to the trail that leads to Wayna Picchu which, given it´s higher peak, overlooks the Cloud City (there are only 400 passes issued each day).

Passing through the gate and asked to sign my name, I jot my signature next to the #300 - only 100 more to follow!

The path to Wayna Picchu is as tough and steep as the one that lead to Dead Woman´s Pass on day 2 of the trek and along the way I remind myself that I may nevr be here again and I would regret NOT going here too!

Some twenty minutes later, I get to the first viewing platform and the view is AMAZING. More areas are visible from here with additional terraces and buildings deemed to be left as is emerging from the jungle growth below. The whole mountain was used in some way for the Incan´s purposes.

Yet, the peak of Wayna Picchu is further still. The ancient steps are worn and overgrown with vegetation and then I notice a few people entering a cave which, on closer inspection, is actually a tunnel that leads to the other side and to the higher platforms.

Not seeing an actual path, I leap across a small gap (foolish, I know) to a path that leads to the Lunar Temple situated near the peak of this mountain. I explore, take photos and marvel at how they built this temple on the side of this mountain!

Knowing I have a time limit, I return to Macchu Picchu via the same path I had taken earlier and reaching the bottom, look up at where I had just been - even more impressed having just traversed the steep and challenging track at the skill and determination of the Incan people.

An hour or so remained for me to visit the residences of MP which was the only place I had seen close up. Making my way through the maze like alleys between the buildings, I eye what would be an ideal picture and move myself into postition not realising where I stood. Hearing whistles, I look up to see a guard motion to me to get off the grass, literally! I still managed a pretty good photo, even if it wasn´t the one I wanted.

I look at my watch and I have to go - a bus awaits to take me to Aguas Calientes at 1:00pm and not knowing if there is a queue and needing to get my backpack from the cloak room, I leave at about 12:30pm. However, there was no queue at the cloak room and the buses ran frequently so as long as I made the 1:00pm bus, I was still on schedule. That in mind, I went back into Macchu Picchu - not to take photos necassarily, just to take in as much as possible before I HAD to leave. I stood marvelling at the buildings and looked up at Wayna Picchu a few times then noting the time, walked to the bus station. Glancing back every few steps....

In Aguas Calientes, Elias meets me near the train station and tells me I am the last to arrive with the others already at the tavern for lunch. I arrive at the balcony where the others sat, huge cheesy grin on my face still not really aware that it was over with but stoked that I had done it - Inca Trail included; sore knees and muscles as well!

Best day of the tour!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb