Machu Picchu and back


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
June 20th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gringo Bills HotelGringo Bills HotelGringo Bills Hotel

obnoxious name, but great room. i got a suite for less than i expected to pay fo a shared dorm room here. real hot water! my first real shower in days!
Day 2 at Machu Picchu

Day 2 started when I woke up in a lovely hotel, fresh and clean from a true hot water shower. I got a great deal on a hotel that I never could have afforded. Well, wanted to pay for. I showed up at the end of the evening and they wanted to fill their rooms. So, I got a 175 dollar per night room for 40. NICE! Everything in Machu Picchu is expensive because it is for tourists, so finding even a dorm room for under 50 is unreal. I lucked out!

I´d intended to get up at the crack of dawn today and see the sunrise over Machu Picchu, but I was so completely exhausted from yesterday that I just couldn´t get my legs moving. I wound up sleeping until 730 and truly my body needed it after that mountain climb yesterday. I returned to Machu Picchu today to explore the lower ruins. I´d eavesdropped on enough guides yesterday to know that I really didn´t want to pay what they charge for the guided tour. So, I bought a little book for 8 dollars that is the complete guide to machu picchu and
View from Machu Picchu TownView from Machu Picchu TownView from Machu Picchu Town

Here a beautiful view from a bridge in the town outside of Machu Picchu
gave myself a guided tour of the lower ruins. AWESOME!

I caught the 230 train back to Ollantaytambo and then caught a shared taxi back to Cusco. There is another parade festival going on here & the excitement in high. Next week is Inti Raymi, the Incan sun festival, and there is so much going on here leading up to that. I´m staying in a very cool hostal called Ninos, which is run by a Duch woman who came here and started a home for homeless Peruvian children. She started by adopting 2 and used donations to help raise them. She then adopted a few more and open a hostel to fund their schooling and needs. She now has 2 hostels and 2 restaurants. She has personally adopted 23 children and supports more than 500 with hot meals and school supplies. The room and hostel are both very charming, a little pricey, but it is a good cause! You know I like a good cause. You can find their information here www.ninoshotel.com

I´m off to the Amazon tomorrow. I don´t think I will have any access to the internet until I return to civilization on the 23rd. Unless
City Square of Machu Picchu PuebloCity Square of Machu Picchu PuebloCity Square of Machu Picchu Pueblo

Very small city square. In the back, my hotel was the white one and I stayed way up at the top. I had a patio with a view over the town.
they have internet during the 4 hours per day that they run electricity. We´ll see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Sun TempleSun Temple
Sun Temple

Here is where the Incas worshipped the sun...maybe some sacrafices...even a big ol pit for ceremonial snakes.
Templo del condorTemplo del condor
Templo del condor

The condor was an important animal to the Incas, symbolizing freedom. The large stones symbolize the wings of the condor and a carved stone on the floor shows the body. The put mummies underneath there. I climbed in, but didn´t see any.
Guinnea Pig RabbitsGuinnea Pig Rabbits
Guinnea Pig Rabbits

These puppies are some sort of guinnea pig, but look like a rabbit to me. Peeps eath them round here and I was lucky enough to come upon some while walking around the lower ruins.
cute or grodycute or grody
cute or grody

close up...what do you think?
Niños Hotel in CuscoNiños Hotel in Cusco
Niños Hotel in Cusco

I think I found a project for my NJHS kiddos to raise money for!


20th June 2008

Amazon
Kim, Be safe in the amazon and can't wait to see pictures. I am just amazed everyday at the pictures you send. I would never have thought to visit Peru and now I want to go. Love ya, Beth
20th June 2008

wow
THAT RAbbit is gross or whatever it is but the ruins look awesome! You are haivng such a great trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
20th June 2008

the guinea pig bunnies
are gross. they look like ratons. but the hotel nino deal is cool-i-o. Love all the pics. you are my hero.
21st June 2008

Grody!
The little critter looks like a rat to me-I vote GRODY! The temples are awesome. Can't wait to see pix of the rain forest.
21st June 2008

Cold???
Hi Kim, Surprised a seasoned traveler such as yourself doesn't realize it gets cooooollllllddd at elevation. Will be following along with you on your trip ( when you get internet access anyhow. Be safe and enjoy !
26th June 2008

I know, huh!?!
You are absolutely correct! I think I was not mentally prepared for just how cold it was. The 2nd night was equally as cold, but it really did not bother me at all. That first night, though, MAN!!! the cold got into my bones and there was just no escaping it.
26th June 2008

The vote is in!
Looks like the overwhelming reponse is GRODY! I agree when I look at the pictures because you can see them up close...ewww. But from afar, the looked like cute fluffy bunny rabbits...that is where my confusion on the cute or gross came in.
27th June 2008

Too cool
I think it is just too cool that you're like "I´m off to the Amazon tomorrow." I mean, who says that?!? hehe You do! Yeah you! ::bowing::

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb