rest and relaxation in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
June 13th 2016
Published: July 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today just had a relaxing day in Cusco with no real plans. I woke up about 630 and laid in bed till about 9 before getting ready. No hangover which was great but tired and lacked energy to get up and go.



Took it pretty easy today. Had a walk around Cusco and went back to the markets to have a look. Impressed with myself I actually found the way and recognised everywhere Andreas took us. It didn't take me as long to explore the markets as I expected. I ended up only buying a small pink Peru hat for Sarah's baby. Today was a big festival in the plaza so watched a bit of that lots of schools competing. I then went for an Inca massage somewhere near the hotel. For 100 soles it was an hour massage combining various styles - Thai, remedial, reflexology, Swiss and hot stone. It was incredible especially for the price. I didn't actually feel bad or stiff following the Inca trail but I love a massage so why not. Sad to admit after that I ate KFC for lunch and then napped for a few hours in the afternoon.



We met Andreas to 630 as usual to talk about our next day. Tomorrow we fly to the Amazon to spend 2 nights in a lodge. I can't believe the trip is almost over. Excited to go back to the jungle however I don't expect to see much from what I have heard from people.



Andreas took us for dinner at a place in the square. Tonight we ordered a communal Guinea pig to share. It was out on centre of table for us to all get photos then cut up and split among the group so we could have a taste. It ended up about 6 sole each and we ordered mains on top of that. I was given a leg, I assume the front leg as Sam got a leg with a lot of thigh meat. Taste wise it was ok. Ok in small doses. I don't think I could have eaten much more then what I picked at. Taste wise I don't really know what to compare it too. One of the guys got the head. Yuk. Brains and all.



After I had every intention to go to bed but a small group of us went to a bar in alley near hotel for one drink. They did us free tiny pisco Sours and then we all ordered a pisco cocktail. I ordered one with pisco, melon liqueur, cucumber, Apple and spearmint. I wasn't too sure about it but it came out and was really refreshing and most of them had a sip and loved it then they all ordered it.



I just had the one and went to bed. Tried to sort out my bags but was too much effort for me being that tired so I will sort it out tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb