South America, Day 10: Cusco, Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
August 7th 2014
Published: August 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This morning we got up early and visited the Sillustani ruins which has many large towers made by the Incas to offer sacrifices in. It is surrounded by a beautiful lake with magnificent views, it is an amazing place and they still don't know how the Incas got all of the stones up to the top of the hill to make these sacrificing towers. From there we headed to Cusco where we spent most of our day travelling on the truck. There were some amazing views that we got to see on the way which you will see in the photos I put up. On our trip we are constantly getting mocked by the Auzzies and Brits on the trip due to our 'funny accent'. We told them they have it all wrong and that our accents make sense, it's a constant battle to prove them wrong and we normally loose. In other news I've stopped taking my altitude tablets as recommended, the only symptom I have is shortness of breath, which is quite ironic being a respiratory nurse. I notice it more at night time and obviously when I'm trying to walk up hills. It's the weirdest feeling as you just CANNOT catch your breath unless you stop walking, then it resolves pretty quickly. My muscles are fine, it is just the breathing, I try to make myself deep breathe when I'm walking up hill or when I've stopped to take a break but my brain overrides me and makes me breathe more shallow, it's quite bizarre! I always wonder what my oxygen levels are like during those situations!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



8th August 2014

Hi Melissa I loved reading these blogs. You ate guinea pig. Cant waitr to tell Nicole. She might appreciate my cooking after all. Melissa I was so thrilled to receive your blogs. Ive been looking hoping to hear from you. Gee it is funny a respiratory nurse is getting short of breath. Does everyone get this? How's Rachael.? It sounds such fun and what wonderful scenery you ware seeing. I'm so pleased for you. Miss you. Love Mum.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb