Pumas, Parades and Gay Pride


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
August 20th 2006
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

After a very nice 1 hour flight at 5:30 a.m. on Friday morning, my group arrived in Cusco. Since our rooms weren't ready yet, we were forced to endure a walking tour of Cusco before the city was even awake! I would love to tell you what I learned, but I was half asleep, so I don't really remember. Oh wait, I do remember something (and it ties in with this blog's title)--the city is shaped like a puma. Yes, the animal. Funny, huh? I guess the architect was quite smart and, in addition to designing the city in the shape of a puma, he also built a great water system, etc. It was such a great water system that ran right through the middle of the city that if anyone was caught spitting in it, the punishment was death! Now, that's zero tolerance! There's also a section of wall that the Inca's built out of stone that is the same shape as the city and, thus, the same shape as a puma. I guess that's the benefit of being on a tour...trust me, no one would have picked out the puma on the wall if we didn't have a tour guide with a very obvious picture of it with the shaded rocks right in front of us.

After finally getting some sleep and chugging some coca tea (helps with the high altitude--don't worry, Mom, I would have to drink a million cups of the stuff to feel the effects of the cocaine in the drink), I walked around the city a bit. Wow, is it ever different than Huancayo. Aside from the architecture (Incan remnants with Spanish colonial style built on top), the city is very, very touristy. I guess I didn't realize that it is the tourist Mecca of South America (as it's basically a mandatory stop on one's way to Machu Pichu). I was amazed to see so many other gringos and here so much English, not just from the gringos, but from the locals as well. Well, the locals have at least mastered speaking English when it comes to haggling!

I've been doing some shopping here for a few gifts to take back home and, I have to tell you, I've been having some problems. I can't decided if things are ugly or not. I'm sure you've all had this when you've travelled somewhere...at the time, something looks really cute but, then, when you take it home and it's out of its natural environment, it's really, really ugly. So, then, you're stuck giving these ugly gifts to your family and friends! I've been trying to be as selective as possible, but the cheap, cheap prices also make it quite difficult because you say to yourself, "Even if it isn't the prettiest thing in the world, it's only a dollar, so I should just buy it anyway." So, basically, this is my way of apologizing in advance in case I give you something really ugly. And for those I don't get anything for, you've been spared 😉

What else can I say about Cusco? Oh, the other two Ps in the title. Well, I've decided that, due to the Peruvians obsession with loud music, they find any reason to have a parade or a fiesta. Since I've been here, I've seen three different parades...that's in three different days. It's great for photo ops, but I really have no idea why these parades are taking place. I'm sure it's to honour some Saint or Incan God or something. I won't complain, though, since most take place during daytime hours, so I can still fall asleep at night. The pride part of the title has to do with the beautiful Incan flag. Let's just say that the flag looks very, very similar to the gay pride flag and provides a good giggle to the tourists, as it flies high over the City Hall and the city centre square.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Cusco ParadesCusco Parades
Cusco Parades

Notice the flag...


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb