Peru Left A Sour Taste In My Mouth


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
April 30th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So i wasted some time at the loki hostel and then i picked up my washing which was a task in itself as the were items missing and i eventually got it sorted and got to the tourist agency were i purchased my ticket and i was taxied to the bus station and given my tickets and left.

I then looked at my tickets and noticed that my ticket to puno and from puno to La Paz totalled 45 soles and i had paid the agency 110 soles, to say i was pissed off was putting it bluntly and then i asked the bus company if it was a cama bus and they showed me pictures of a totally different bus to the one that i eventually got, the bus was slighty better than a normal bus, but a stretch to be called a semi cam let alone a cama bus.

To then add insult to injury i had to wait 2 hours in the freezing crappy puno station and it was slighty better as on the way to the border i had a birtish girl camille sat next to me and we chatted and she lives in Manchester. Then the bus turned out to be going via copacabana rather than direct to La Paz and so the bus dropped us at the border and then a mirco bus to copacabana and then a two hour wait there and then a slow 4 hour plus journey to La Paz then the decent hostels were all booked out and it took two hours to find a shit hole of a hostel and so currently im not at all in a great mood at all. Not sure if i will bus to the salt flats tomorrow or have another night in La Paz?

But anyway a nearly 24 hour journey is not my idea of fun and im getting pissed off witrh agencys over charging and bullshitting with travel times and busses being direct when they are not. I have some more time in South America at the moment, but im currently looking forward to civilisation in Austraila.

Before heading to bed i went for a wander and met Chris an aussie guy i met and hung out with in Cusco and so we arranged to meet at 11.30 the next day. I headed back and had some crap pasta for dinner and went to bed and was woken at 6am by the two german girls in my room putting the light on and packing up and talking as loudly as possible. Some people have no idea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb