... and then there was one.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
August 24th 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Pen being versatilePen being versatilePen being versatile

Note the position of the bubble ... and that's where the FLOOR isn't really sloping!
22 Aug Day 10: free day Cusco

Its interesting to see and hear about the people who go on Treks. A lot are unlikely. On Monday night the girls we met and had our meal with, had just completed their briefing for their trek, which as it happens is one of the tougher ones. They told us about a couple of girls on their trek who were asking all sorts of questions such as about the showers. The guide informed them that if they required showers were available. They would be cold but available. The girls were shocked that the showers weren't hot. Mind you this particular trek goes to the middle of no-where. They also wanted to know about packing their bikinis. Well, as it happens bathers of some sort could be useful as the trek visits hot springs, but the girls we were talking to had a snigger about the bikini bit.

Where this is leading is to the point that on the tour of the Sacred Valley Liz and Garry met a gentleman who is travelling alone. As it turns out that this gentleman is also on the walk along the Inca Trail with Maz, Don
Local School children.Local School children.Local School children.

School children performing the carrying of the cross. Don't know what the occasion is.
and Garry. He seems to be a fairly pedantic type who wants to know the ins and outs of a duck's bottom (regarding the schedule) and isn't afraid to voice his opinion if things vary. Apparently at one point he complained about there not being sufficient explanation occurring and when the tour guide started to provide an expanded explanation the gentleman walked off. I saw him in action at the briefing for the Inca Trail walk. I swear he had a 20 page check list and he kept referring to it ticking things off, asking questions and in general seeming to think of himself as the only person in the world. I had to smile when the guide questioned him about his 18kg porterage. The answer - "I have a lot of things to take". I was wondering if this included his sports trousers and business shirts. By comparison Garry packed about 7 kg including sleeping bag and sleeping mat.

Anyway Maz Don and Garry left and 5:30 yesterday morning and their day one on the trail is describe as follows:
The Inca Trail to Machu Picchu: A spectacular early morning drive through the Sacred Valley takes us to
The risen ChristThe risen ChristThe risen Christ

I think I gave the night time version of this earlier this week.
our trailhead at Km. 82 of the Machu Picchu railroad. After getting acquainted with our porters you will set out, crossing a footbridge to hike a gentle two hours down the Urubamba canyon, and then visit imposing sculpted Inca farming terraces and the settlement of Llaqtapata on the banks of the Cusichaca side river. We then climb a short way up the Cusichaca valley to Huayllabamba, the last inhabited village on the trail, where we camp.
Meanwhile Liz prepared herself for her departure the following day which included a Nana nap (her words) in the afternoon, an early dinner which she didn't enjoy. I enjoyed my meal for once (in recent days at least - I really was enjoying the food). The followed the briefing for her walk which, much to her joy (being a horse woman) she will be riding part of the way. Following this it was off to bed

Me, well I had my big day at the Clinico.

23 Aug Day 11: HuchuyQosqoTrek Tambomachay to Pumamarca

At 06:00 am Liz left on our Trek. Day 1 is describe as follows:
Private vehicle for 25 minutes to Tambomachay located at 3700 masl. We begin
The Fountain in the Main squareThe Fountain in the Main squareThe Fountain in the Main square

There are actually men working in the Fountain, which hasn't been drained, polishing the gold work. The working conditions are somewhat different to those that we take for granted in Oz.
8 Km of moderate walk with a gradual climb of 450 meters ; 4-5 Hrs till the lunch place. We start our hike walking at the ancient Inca Trail used by Inca people to connect with the Sacred Valley, Pisac and probably to Machu Picchu at the XV century. From this point you can observe panoramic views of Cusco traditional neiborhoods as Santa Ana, Santiago, Puquinetc, and the Valley of Qorao, at this high Andean level we observe llamas and alpacas eating the andean grass named Ichu, small cactus and some bromelias bushes locally known as Puyas. At the left side on the path we can see ancient Incas terraces used by farmers in order to gain more potatoes farming areas, A gentle walking down to the trail as it curves sharply up-hill to reach a pass of near 4180 meters. Then we descend along the trail, you will see a beautifully green valleys stretching out as far as the eye can see, the trail takes us up over the second pass (4300 meters) and into high open country. Just reaching the top we can see the beautiful Lake Qoricocha (Golden Lake in Quechua) where we descend for 20 minutes to find our lunch spot , free time to rest. After lunch and time for rest , we continue another 300 meter to climb in 3 Hrs walk in a normal pace to reach the highest point 4380 masl, from this top it is easy to see Chincheros and the lake of Piuray and some snow sacred mountains as Salcantay, Veronica, (2 passes) then a 1.5 Hrs downhill walk to Pucamamarca our camping place. Here, we set up camp and enjoy our supper underneath the great starry sky. This community is located at 3,980 masl nearby there few houses that belong to the farmers. (8- 9 horas 16 kilometers of moderate walk).

Meanwhile, Maryalina, Don and Garry were experiencing the following:
The Inca Trail: We climb the steep-sided Llullucha valley past a rushing stream and through enchanting subtropical woodland. Crossing the rim of a small plateau, we find ourselves in the puna, the treeless grasslands of the high Andes. The trail traverses an open slope opposite mighty mountain crags as we ascend to the first and highest pass, Warmiwa?usca (4,200m). Here we encounter spectacular views of the trail ahead to the second pass, and look back to the sweeping snowpeaks and valleys of the Huayanaymassif. We then follow the trail to the floor of the Pacay mayo valley, where we camp for the night.

I seem to have have become a fixture around here. All the staff seem to know me by name and enquire about my health. I'm still not sure how they know, but they do. I got out for a while today. I had a sit in the main square, took a few photos, did a bit of shopping and got hassled by street vendors, including one who kept following me trying to sell cigarettes. I finally got rid of him and then saw him again a few minutes later when he started to try again. This time I remembered to speak the Spanish - No fumo - which seemed to do the trick. I had another who wanted to sell me sunnies. This bloke had very good English and kept chasing me wanting me to give him money for a pizza because he was hungry and occasionally still waving the sunnies at me. I ended up walking out into the traffic just to get rid of him. A bit of a suicidal tactic, but
Talk about tower city.Talk about tower city.Talk about tower city.

Take a really close look at the top of the mountain. There's every type of tower and satellite dish you could think of up there.
it worked. It's probably my only complaint. Saying no to that type of vendor just means get more and more persistent and insistent. It helped later though. I was in a market area and I found it was easier just to say "no gracios" and turn around and walk away. At least the market people don't chase you down the street - mostly.

My early start tomorrow is at 11:00 when I head off to meet Liz. I'm not planning to take my electronic toy with me, unless I can magically find some room in my pack, so I won't be blogging for a couple of days.

I nearly forgot Pen, he's had a great time being versatile.

Advertisement



24th August 2013

good luck
Good that you are feeling improved Phil...hope the trekking goes well.
24th August 2013

Feel like I'm on holidays!
Hi Phil. Totally loving your travel blog. The places you are seeing sound amazing and the photos are spectacular. I feel like I'm having a holiday within your holiday!! Meanwhile back in South Gippsland we reached saturation point 10 days ago......and the rain just keeps coming!! Very jealous. Enjoy, Karon
25th August 2013

Feel Like I'm Holidays
Hi Karon, I'd say I'll try to bring the good weather back but it started raining here today (Saturday), tomorrow doesn't look too good either but Monday will hopefully be OK. I see its been pretty cool as well. We're at 3,500 metres and still seem to be getting warmer days. Stay dry.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb