Dazed and Confused in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
March 5th 2013
Published: March 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

No, the title has nothing to do with a movie from the early 90’s, nor does it have anything to do with illegal substances (or even some of the legal ones I have been known to enjoy). No, today it is about lack of sleep, layovers and altitude. In my mind I had visions of a slow night at work the night before I left. I would slip out, go home and quietly unwind before the alarm went off at 4:30 AM. Perhaps I should have included winning the lottery in that scenario because it wouldn’t have happened either. But here I am in Cusco, Peru, so all is well. At over 11,000 feet elevation, altitude sickness can be an issue here. I started taking Diamox on Sunday to help prevent this and actually felt pretty darn good until the late afternoon today. True, I was groggy and a bit disoriented all day, but that often happens after an overnight flight. Now, however, I have a splitting headache. Can't be sure if altitude is the cause since I get headaches fairly frequently, but I felt it would play into a more fun title than something along the lines of "Crap, Another
00:00:00 on the Countdown Clock00:00:00 on the Countdown Clock00:00:00 on the Countdown Clock

Time's up, it's travel time!
Fricken' Headache". See what I mean?



My flights were actually very pleasant. No delays, no wailing babies or drunken adults. I booked early enough that I had exit rows on the 2 long segments. Simply having that extra leg room really makes a flight better. I wasn’t even too upset when my Kindle refused to open any of the books I had purchased for this trip. I was able to find some older ones I had not yet read and enjoyed reading them. I also watched Finding Nemo and Best of Show. Both are oldies, but still as funny today as when I first saw them. Writing this in my hotel room late tonight, I can say that I had to delete all the books, restart the Kindle and then reload them. Sure, why not. It was so much fun to delete each one and just as an added bonus, I reloaded them all just as the error message said to, only to find out that they still wouldn’t open. It was only after searching the website that I discovered the restart. But see, I am fine with it. This is all part of traveling and I know that I am not in control of many things. It is a good exercise in patience (something I sorely lack).

My flight landed at 6:30AM in Cusco. This was one of those times when I dusted off Pamper Brendan and had someone waiting at the airport for me. I brushed aside all of the aggressive taxi drivers and headed straight for the man holding the sign with my name on it. Since there is no public transportation from the airport, I felt it was the right thing to do. By arriving so early, my hotel room was not ready. They were very helpful, let me have some coca tea to help with altitude sickness, allowed me to store my luggage and highlighted a map with some places to see. In my opinion, Cusco is not a big destination so much as a starting point for trips to Machu Picchu. There are some very nice areas with cathedrals, parks and there are some nice shops; however, the majority of things are geared towards tourists and making money off of them. I ran into many people asking for money, offering massage (really, it is similar to the people on the
Nice View I ThoughtNice View I ThoughtNice View I Thought

Looking over Plaza de Armas
Strip in Vegas as they try to hand you the girly ads, and yes, I did actually use the word girly ads- wow my head is pounding) offering to pose for pictures with various accoutrements. I went back to the hotel to get some things out of my bag and found that my room was ready. Oh heck yes! I went up and slept for 5 hours, then brushed my teeth, showered and felt human again.

Having been able to rest up, I headed back down to a spa I had found this morning. They offered massage and I desperately needed one. I don't normally get a massage, but when on vacation it seems the thing to do, and let me tell you, it was such bliss. My shoulders were so tight from lugging my carry on that I could barely move. It was another victory for Pamper Brendan, although I think Travel Brendan is getting ready to take charge. I have a full day tour tomorrow and then head down for a Machu Picchu tour Thursday and Friday. I apologize if this is short and a bit discombobulated, but as I said, my head is pounding. After the massage I spent the rest of the evening in the hotel room getting organized for the next couple days and more honestly, just sprawling on the bed doing nothing. Hopefully a good night of sleep will take care of my headache. So, until next time, ciao.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



6th March 2013

Dazed and confused
Travel Brendan is on the case! Pamper Brendan is offering up good advice! It's a win-win. Enjoy, my friend.
6th March 2013

Thanks Dave
All the Brendans thank you. We are up, and ready for the Sacred Valley tour now.
6th March 2013

Pamper Brendan
I love that you have "Pamper Brendan"! I have a Princess gene which sometimes requires attention. Drivers waiting at the airport for me and me alone still makes me happy. Peru is somewhere I'd love to go - I look forward to reading about your upcoming travels.
6th March 2013

Princess Gene
That made me laugh and not feel that I am alone in enjoying those special moments, such as a driver. Thank you for the comment. I hope you enjoy the rest of the Peru blogs.
6th March 2013

Hope you're having fun!
Hope your headache is gone and travel Branden has made hia enthusiastic appearance! I envy you!
6th March 2013

Thank you Jackie
Good to see you are on the blog. I am feeling much better this morning. It is no longer pounding. Still there, but much more subtle now.
6th March 2013

The non-member Dave is a member
He forgot to sign in! You will love the Sacred Valley. The flowers were blooming when we were there. Dave and I love someone picking us up with our name on a sign. Feels like the rich and famous...plus when you are tired and jet lagged it takes the guess work out of it.
6th March 2013

I was able to figure it out from the email
It was a beautiful day down in the Sacred Valley today. I will blog about it tonight. And yes, it does smack of the rich and famous when someone holds a sign up for me. Was very well worth it yesterday for sure.
6th March 2013

Hope your head stops hurting...im waiting the next blog!
Pampering Brendon made me realise i have a Empress Cindy who likes a spot of luxury every now n then. Sure the coca tea will help with the altitude thing looking forward to the next installment :)
6th March 2013

We hope your headache quickly dissipates -- enjoy the rest as you definitely deserve it after all your hard work stateside. We hope that the story we shared about the driver and the belt did not unsettle you on this trip and that you got the personal driver strictly for Pamper Brendan's sake, but keep practicing your various accents anyway, hehehe.
6th March 2013

Thanks Michelle
I had arranged this some time back, but I have passed that belt story on to some fellow travelers. It was such smart thinking. Feeling much better today. I haven't felt the need for accents, but you know I am all set with a good German accent (well, perhaps not so good, but still fun).
6th March 2013

You made it!!
So happy to see this entry today! Don't they have that bottled oxygen in Cusco you can buy? Thought I saw it there for the altitude sickness...But I think a long nap and a massage was a better investment. A pounding headache is no way to start a trip. Sorry to hear. I'm already looking forward to your next entry. Best!
6th March 2013

Thanks Anastasia
I have seen ads for oxygen, but I really think it was a combination of being overly tired, under caffeinated and the altitude. I feel much better today as you will see from tonight's blog.
6th March 2013

I just finished reading Justange's blog about her horrible trip to Cuba...
you both have the right attitude about glitches...go with the flow...she sure was put to the test though. Hope you adapt to the altitude...I live at 8500 feet so hope 12000 feet won't affect me too much when I go there. Also looking forward to your blogs...good research!
6th March 2013

Wow, Justange did have some crappy things
I just read her blog as well, thanks for pointing it out. I have adjusted and am back to my normal self today. Will do a better blog with several pictures tonight. When are you planning a trip to Peru? So far I am loving it. And I have no doubt you will be fine. The highest I have ever been is up to North Lake Tahoe.
6th March 2013

It's finally March!
Hey Brendan, so excited for your trip! Hope you are feeling better, the massage was such a good idea. Looking forward to following your trip. :)
7th March 2013

Thank you Ren and Andrew
I am feeling like a new person today and had an incredible day. I can't wait to load the pictures and start writing.
7th March 2013

How are you doing?
Hey Brendan, Hope the headaches are gone and you are finally enjoying your trip. Vacations are for Pampering yourself so enjoy and have fun with that. Hope to see some more pictures soon. Have fun and stay safe! Janelle
7th March 2013

Thanks Janelle
The first day of a vacation is usually a rough one, especially after an over night flight. I always schedule and extra day in my landing city to allow for the most undesirable "Wallow Brendan" where I feel crappy, wallow in self pity and second guess my desire to travel. By the next day he has been beaten into submission by one of my other selves and off we all go to have the most wonderful time. Thank you so much for the note.
7th March 2013

Oh my, I know those headaches! Not a pleasant way to start but I've read ahead and see you have recovered nicely and making your way through the sacred valley. Be sure to try all the salty food of Peru...lol. Come to think of it, maybe the salt helps with the altitude? Have a wonderful trip Brendan!
7th March 2013

Thanks Andrea
I think it was a perfect storm of fatigue, caffeine deprivation and the altitude. I didn't think about salt, but that is a great idea. I need to go back and read your Peru blogs again. I'm sure I will get some good ideas. Take care. B
7th March 2013

Airport Friend
Hey Brendan, Nice to meet you in the airport - great blog by the way! Sorry I brought back the supposedly stranded german guy to the starbucks - hopefully he was telling the truth - seems to be quite a bit of these germans buys with money problems these days... Have a great trip in Peru and especially interested to hear about your forthcoming trips to Ica and Nazca! Sincerely, Tim Marti
7th March 2013

Thanks Tim
I still wonder if I did the right thing, but hopefully karma will smile upon me for it. I am glad you found the blog. Looking forward to seeing Ica and Nazca.
9th March 2013

Hello Mr. Chef Brendan, sorry to here about your head ache but we can always trade places as to where you can come back here and i wiil be more than happy to take you place. Very nice pictures. Keep enjoying yourself. Ricky
10th March 2013

Thank you Ricky
I think I will stay here and power through it, but the offer was too kind. lol Hope all is well. And thanks for reading and commenting.

Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 48; qc: 165; dbt: 0.246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb