The first few days...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
February 8th 2012
Published: February 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

I arrived safe and sound yesterday morning after my three flights, the only delay was at heathrow due to the snow, everything else was as planned. I arrived to bright sunshine and a sky bluer than any I have seen before. Jeremy and Arturo, the coordinators for the Cusco project greeted me at the airport and gave me a whistle stop tour of the town, it is really beautiful and I am really looking forward to exploring it further.

The first day passed quickly, I arrived at about 11 in the morning and met the girls at the orphanage that I am calling home for the next 4 weeks. The children greeted me with smiles and enthusiasm, much in the same way 9 Vianney greet me on a Monday morning! I have to confess that I spent a few hours playing hula hoop with a few of the younger girls and then after having my nails painted beautifully by Elisabeth, one of the older girls who hopes to be a nail artisit when she grows up, I then crawled into bed at about 5 in the afternoon (although in my defence that is 10pm GMT). The 24 hour journey to Cusco had left me exhausted and the high altitude was also causing me to be a little short of breath and generally feeling poorly.

The room that I am staying in the orphanage is basic yet lovely, the whole orphanage has a warmth about it that you find in your own family home. My bed served me well for the 14 hours or so that I slept and I woke to the most amazing view, which next time I visit this Internet cafe I hope to share with you. Looking out of the window in the morning to see such glorious mountains helps you to forget your aches and focuses your mind on what can be achieved in the day ahead.

Today I am much more awake but still a but achey from the journey. I am slowly acclimatising and trying to take it easy until my body is used to the altitude, I find it difficult to be patient at the best of times, but here when there is so much to do and see it is frustrating. I am pacing myself but did venture into town today to visit the Cathedral with a few of the other volunteers which was fascinating and a real jewel in Cusco's crown. One of the strangest sights I have seen was within this Cathedral, where the Last Supper has been reimagined with a dinner plate of Guinea Pig being added to the table. I had been warned about this by Mrs. Hoskins but it is a strange sight to behold. Guinea Pig is one of the town's specialities, I don't think I will be brave enough to try it but I guess we will see how it goes. For today's lunch I had Alpaca Ravioli so maybe Guinea Pig is not too much of a stretch after all!

The afternoons are mostly spent playing with the girls or assisting in their English lessons, both of which are good fun. At the moment they are on their school holidays so during the mornings they tend to do their chores and they have bible study each day. They then have the afternoons to play or have additional lessons. Today we have spent most of the afternoon playing with their musical instruments, one of the younger girls Gladys is very talented on the keyboard, playing that song from Titanc with ease and really showing up my attempt at chopsticks!

All in all the first few days have been a really nice introduction to my stay and have me feel both safe and welcome. I will do my best to get back to you in a few days and will try to remember my camera lead so that I can share some photos with you.

Speak to you soon, take care,

Tasha

Advertisement



10th February 2012

Missing you !
Hello Miss.Clark, 9 Vianney would like to say that we are missing you loads and it is nice to hear you have landed safely and are having a good time. What you are doing is amazing and keep up the good work! Could you say hello from all of us here Speak to you soon save us some of what ever to eat

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb