Cusco, you are a part of me.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
April 17th 2011
Published: April 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I really enjoyed my time in Cusco and being away has made me appreciate it more and more.

Peru is a very unique place, Cusco especially. Sitting at 11,000+ feet, it's lively atmosphere attracts tourist for many reasons. We headed to Cusco to volunteer and to experience life in South America. Its versatile location allows easy access to wonderful places like Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the Amazon, among many more.

Cusco's culture and roots run deep. It's a developing city in a third world country. As it continues to progress, its history lives on through the land and its people.

Upon arrival, it took some getting used to. Adjusting to the pollution, trash, dogs and lack of utilities (ie: water) was difficult at first but soon they become a part of the background. Cusco's beauty is endless. Living in the mountains was heavenly, breathtaking views and hiking trails in your backyard.

The hospitality in Cusco and welcoming atmosphere is definitely not to be taken for granted. The kindness of the locals and the eagerness of the tourists creates an upbeat and fun atmosphere for anyone.

I did things in Cusco I thought I'd never do. Our trip to the Amazon was unreal. I can't even put into words how wonderful it was. Although at times it was horrifying (see Amazon blog entry) it really helped me to let my guard down and embrace the wild. Machu Picchu was another awesome experience. And still, just being in Cusco was amazing. Being able to wake up and wander up a mountain in your backyard was something I will never forget, and probably crave every now & then once I get home. Living in a house with a Peruvian family and other tourists was also a great experience.

Although we lived outside of the center, we still spent most of our time there. One thing I miss the most is the delicious street food. The Plaza was always busy and there was always something to do. We were lucky to celebrate Carnaval there. The Peruvians also celebrate “octave”. Octave basically means they celebrate any holiday for the next 8 days. So Carnaval, like any other holiday in Peru, becomes an 8 day party. How great is that?

I also miss our “friendly feasts” at Magy & Siham’s. It really made Cusco feel like home, being able to cook a meal for friends and enjoy it over conversation & wine.

Having been in Buenos Aires now for 3 weeks, I’d have to say Cusco is much more what I pictured South America to be like. Like I said, the roots of Cusco run deep. It is full of and surrounded by Inca ruins. Many people still wear traditional clothing. It was a pleasure to learn about the history of Peru and the Incas.

Still, Cusco doesn't just bring you closer to South America, it is a global hub where you are able to experience so many other cultures and make connections worldwide. While in Cusco I had the opportunity to make new friends from Belgium, England, Israel, Peru, Brasil, Canada, Germany, Norway, South Africa, United States, Russia, Australia & Italy.

I lived in Cusco for 9 weeks and while I was ready to continue my journey through South America, I didn't expect to miss Peru as much as I do.

My last weekend in Cusco was wonderful. I had finished my research and was able to relax and enjoy the city. I spent it with my favorite people doing all the things we loved to do. Cusco is an easy place to get lost in. I spent my last week like I did my first, wandering around, taking as many pictures as possible. The nightlife in Cusco is wonderful! It’s just the right size, not too big & not too small. Because of InkaTeam (our local discotec) I have become a huge fan of reggaeton & Israeli pop music. (Yes, Israeli pop music, odd, I know.)

All in all, I’d highly recommend Cusco and Peru to anyone who has the opportunity to make the trip.Cusco was beyond memorable and I'm extremely happy to have had the opportunity to spend my time in such a wonderful place.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb