Sentido la Musica


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
January 29th 2011
Published: January 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hola Amigos!


Everyday gets better and better. We´ve learned our way around the main areas of Cusco which is very helpful. For the first week we visited a lot of museums and churches in Cusco. With the Inca history, everything has been very interesting (as well as very old). The arcitechture of the city is amazing.

We´ve been eating well. I had my first fresh mango yesterday and it will not be the last. All the fruit here is so fresh and delicious. We learned how to make a classic Peruvian dish, lomo saltado. It´s made up of rice, beef, fried potatoes and lots of vegetables. Very filling.

Rob & I found a trail up the mountain behind our house and are excited to go back. It´s very peaceful there. Beautiful views of the city and the Andes.

Last night we went to see a Beatles cover band at The Lek. They were surprisingly very good. It really puts into perspective how influential they were. There are lots of bars that offer live music that we plan to check out. All the bars here have couches and a comfy setting, aside from the discotecas which are just huge dance parties.


Today we went to see the ruins that are about 20 minutes outside of Cusco. They were cool, but hiking out in the mountains was more fun. The views up there are breathtaking. While everyone else went out to see the last two ruins, Zach and I found a place to go horseback riding. It was honestly one of the greatest moments in my life. We went for about an hour through the mountains. We rode through streams and fields of sheep. It was sureal. I don´t think it´s set in yet that I just spent my afternoon on a horse in the mountains of Peru. I definitely want to go back and do it again.

We´ve been taking salsa lessons all week and, obviously, we´re pretty good. We have the first five basic steps down. We´ll be taking them again next week as well where we´ll learn how to dance with partners and do turns.

We´ve also been meeting a lot of people down here. Fairplay has people from all over the world that work through the program. It´s been a pleasure to get to know everyone.

We´ll start volunteering next week. I´ll be working at the school on the mountain side that is environmentally based. Working in the greenhouse and garden. I´m excited.

When we´re not out and about I´ve been spending a lot of time on the roof in the sun, reading and resting. It´s been nice to relax and take in the scenery.


As soon as I get a chance I´ll put up more pictures.

Til then,

Jennifer

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb