In Cusco....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 29th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola Amigos!!

Well .. again I can´t spend too much on this thing cos I have to run in a mo.

But to fill you in. I have been deadly sick with Altitude Sickness for around 4 days. This involves constant headaches, vomiting and breathlessness. So I have been on medication and oxygen which has absolutely devestated me. I am only just coming to terms with the fact that I have been unable to do the Inca Trail. Which coincidentally was the purpose of my trip. Nick has been able to do it, and as I type this is on the 3rd day of the trek. I will be joining him at Machu Pichu tomorrow morning - hopefully enjoying the spectacular sunrise over it together. I am still so upset by this and really has killed me.

Apart from this, the tour has been ok. Its been hard for me to enjoy it of late with being quite sick. But from here onwards all will be fine. I am now acclimatised and there are no huge increases in altitude. Thank god for that!!

A few photos for you to enjoy of our trip so far in South
PiscoPiscoPisco

Absolutely devestated by the earthquake August 2007 - too dodgy now to go out at night
America!!

Adios!!
jacs xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Dune BuggyDune Buggy
Dune Buggy

Me n Rich loving the sand dunes of Huacacina
Sand dunesSand dunes
Sand dunes

at Huacacina
Little Dune BuggyLittle Dune Buggy
Little Dune Buggy

Nick driving..
SandboardingSandboarding
Sandboarding

yeah baby
A pro...A pro...
A pro...

yeah right
Teeny weenyTeeny weeny
Teeny weeny

plane to Nazca Lines
Busting out the karaokeBusting out the karaoke
Busting out the karaoke

intoxicated with Pisco Sours
mmmmmmmm
mmmm

delicious but deadly.. four floor they reckon!
BeetlesBeetles
Beetles

in Arequipa
Plaza De ArmasPlaza De Armas
Plaza De Armas

in Arequipa
ArequipaArequipa
Arequipa

Me n Rich near the Plaza De Armas.. my first day of being ill
awwaww
aww

pretty bridge
more beetlesmore beetles
more beetles

Arequipa
blessbless
bless

little girl on the way to the Colca Canyon
chewingchewing
chewing

Coca Leaves to prevent altitude sickness.. what a load...
The highest pointThe highest point
The highest point

4900 metres above sea level. Beginning to feel like death
me on oxygenme on oxygen
me on oxygen

and nick laughing. you´ll keep


30th July 2008

What a shame Miss Jax
Dear Miss Jax I was so sorry to hear that you have altitude sickness. That must be so upsetting and disappointing for you. Get well soon and have a fabulous time the rest of your trip. Love Rose
31st July 2008

Hope your feeling better!!
Bad Luck on getting sick, I hope you feeling alot better soon i guess it's one part on the trip you wont forget in a hurry - crap. Think positive my dear you have had ablast so far and you still have alot more to see and do - Woo Hoo
31st July 2008

hi kids
hi kids so sorry to hear you could not go on the treck but im sure it you will have fun. i cant wait to you 2 in a rew weeks we will have fun then. got to go i have a dead line to day for the mag and i still have not finished it. love you rob x
3rd August 2008

Hey
Jacs I hope your getting back to full strength and feeling better...that's such a shame that you couldn't do the Inca Trail but at least your over there and hopefully you got that sunrise:) Nick better be lookinh after you... I won't tie you down with a massive email but make sure you look after yourself and enjoy your trip..loving the photos too hehe. Love Ali and Nath xxx

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb