Exploring Cusco and beyond...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 8th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My favorite cafeMy favorite cafeMy favorite cafe

I sit at the same cafe every morning and read...here is me enjoying it once again.
I spent the past weekend taking advantage of how close I am to so many Incan ruins and playing the tourist role. My roommate, Alex, and I traveled around Cusco and the Sacred Valley. Saturday we went to the market here in Cusco which was quite an experience. The market is enormous and there are hundreds of people from the 'campesino' (the sorrounding rural areas--farmers and such) selling fruits, vegetables, maize, beans, and fresh meat, amongst other things. We definitely turned a lot of heads as we were probably the only non-Peruvians there!
On Saturday afternoon we took the City Tour with a guide around Cusco...we went to Incan museums and ruins, and Catholic Cathedrals. The Cathedral here in Cusco (you can see a picture in my last entry) is pretty incredible. There are a dozen chapels inside, over 500 paintings, mirrors, and two gigantic alters (one plated in gold and the other in silver). The most interesting painting was a version of the Last Supper with Cuy (roasted Guinea Pig) as the main cuisine. Unfortunately, I couldn't take any pictures inside the Cathedral, but found a copy of the painting online and included it below.
My tour of the Sacred
San Pedro MarketSan Pedro MarketSan Pedro Market

There is a market a few blocks away from downtown Cusco...here is just a small portion of the market. The local come here on Saturday mornings and barter for different foods and supplies.
Valley on Sunday by far exceeded my greatest expectations. We spent the whole day in a bus driving through the Andes (amazing!) and stopping at small towns to go to their markets and visiting incredible ruins. We visited the ruins of Pisac and Ollantayambo, which were both extensive agricultural and irrigation ruins that were cut into the mountains by the Incans (I can't believe how advanced they were!). Seeing the ruins required a lot of hiking (and come climbing), which I wasn't expecting, and I was wearing a skirt and sandals that day (eee!), but I made it. If you like to hike, this area of Peru has a lot of great places to hike through! I've posted some of the highlights of both of all the ruins, although pictures can't quite capture the reality of it (also, I tried not to overwhelm you with pictures, but it was difficult to choose the best ones).
I am now in my second week of language classes which are going pretty well. I can't believe that I will be in Cusco for only a few more days. I've been able to meet a ton of people, and also was able to meet up with my old college roommate, Kelli, who coincidentally lives in Cusco! It's been nice being able to relax and travel a bit before I start working in Lima next week. Also, I've only been sick once so far, and it was only for 24 hours...cross your fingers that I will remain fairly sick-free!!
Things I've learned over the past week: 1) Peruvians are selfish with their change (coins)...because everything costs so little here, you usually pay with coins. Many places won't even take (or change out) your bills...I've learned that coins are more valuable to me here than bills, which are monetarily worth so much more! 2) You are not supposed to flush toilet paper down the toilet...oops!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Doomed Guinea PigsDoomed Guinea Pigs
Doomed Guinea Pigs

At least they have a nice little house to live in before they're eaten...
SaqsaywamanSaqsaywaman
Saqsaywaman

(Sounds like "Sexy Woman") These are ruins from an ancient Incan Temple just up the hill from my school.
SheepSheep
Sheep

I thought this was a cool picture.
Pisac RuinsPisac Ruins
Pisac Ruins

Incan Temple of the Sun...here the Incans developed their 12 month calendar.
Pisac Ruins Cont.Pisac Ruins Cont.
Pisac Ruins Cont.

Alex and I sitting on the bench that 'gives off positive energy'...at least that's what my tour guide said.
Skype MarriageSkype Marriage
Skype Marriage

Brian and I both talking to each other over the internet on Skype...we've been lucky enough to talk most days :)


9th July 2008

Hehe, you two are Skype nerds too! Rock on. :) I'm looking forward to reading more about your trip, although it's making me miss Peru an awful lot. We'll just have to take a little trip over there sometime soon.
10th July 2008

Poor Guinea Pigs
I think that is hilarious that you took a picture of the Guinea Pigs pre-cuy. Also, I am sorry, I should have warned you about the toilet paper but I didnt know if Peru would be like that too. It is negative fun to not be able to flush. :-)
11th July 2008

Phenomenal Heather! Looks like you're having an amazing time - I'm jealous! (but happy for you.. ;) Good to see that Brian is still acting/looking like a dweeb! hahaha..
18th July 2008

awww lol thats cute.. Keep having funnn!!!! :) we miss u here though!
20th July 2008

so what do you do
with the toilet paper? and why can't you flush? I know you expected an intelligent question...come on Hedder it's Eve asking :)
22nd July 2008

toilet paper....
I have to throw it in the trash can next to the toilet....actually you get used to it ;)

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb