Slight change of plan


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 5th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´ve just been for the briefing for my trek to Machu Piccu which is due to leave tomorrow at 7am. Only, it´s not because there is a train strike and we need to use the train for part of our journey. The organisers have managed to move everything back by a day (although it has cost us quite a bit) so I´m now leaving on Monday 7th and returning to Cusco on Friday 11th. Which would be fine except I have already booked and paid for my extravagence of the trip, which is a 10 hour train journey through the Andes to Puno. I was due to be on the train on the morning of the 11th. Having paid $150 for it I´m not keen to miss out! The train station is closed now until tomorrow morning so I won´t know until then what I can do. The details of the train ride I will HOPEFULLY still be doing are at http://www.orient-express.com/web/tper/andean-explorer.jsp but I can´t work the keyboard out enough to put that as a link!

The trek sounds amazing though. There are 9 of us on it - me, 2 Irish, 3 Americans and 3 Brazilians. Instead of my birthday being on the prettiest part of the route it´s going to be on the toughest part with the steepest climb.

Enjoying Cusco although it´s bloody cold at night. I don´t mind having an extra day here just to relax and wander round the city. Off out now to try and rearrange things. More soon. Oh and I have found a place to download the photos off my memory card so I should be updating the photos on here later on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Mi amigaMi amiga
Mi amiga

This is me with Sabina, the crazy lady who skanked me out of 15 soles for a pair of earrings then sat chatting to me and trying to teach me Quechan (unsuccessfully). It looks like she is giving me a motherly hug but it´s equally likely that she was frisking me for my money belt


5th July 2008

Hello Darling
I look forward to the snaps. Hopefully your dream ride will come off xxx

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb