Standing in awe of the Incas


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Aguas Calientes
December 18th 2015
Published: December 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Right now I'm sitting at a beautiful restaurant in the town of Aguas Calientes which is the starting point to get up to Machu Picchu. The area is beautiful with huge mountain scene that is incredibly green right now in the rainy season and a beautiful river raging through the town. Okay so just a little background on my situation here. I have been extremely sick with altitude sickness. and I just share that with you not to get any pity but just to let you know that these things happen. Sometimes you get lucky and sometimes you don't but that doesn't mean you don't do everything you can to enjoy your trip. So today I paid for a late departure at the hotel and then tried to get a little more sleep. And then it was time to get on the bus to go to Machu Picchu which is about a half an hour from this town. I was able to see just a little portion of it that you will see in the pictures because my physical health is very poor right now. I have been extremely irresponsible. But I have been to Machu Picchu. I'm hoping that I'm getting better and we only really have more travel to lower elevations to do get to Lima. Barb is doing great she hasn't been affected by the altitude at all. So I can't wait to catch up with her when we get our train home to see how she enjoyed her trip up to this Incan legacy. She's a trooper and I'm extremely grateful that she is here with me on this adventure. She's what everyone needs in a travel partner. You need someone who's up for adventure. Who is excited to see and experience everything there is to see on the trip. Just fantastic and I have needed her help. It is always hard to ask for help but I have definitely needed it. So I just was able to get down some to beef tenderloin soup and some french fries and now I'm going to head over to the train station. I know I know why would you eat french fries.? I ate them because I just need some things but I know I can eat. I have to recover. Love to you all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



15th February 2016

Love you
You did not eat fries you had the papas Fritas and that my friend is food of the gods!

Tot: 0.499s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb