Week 8 and Chanchamayo (The Amazon)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Callao » El Callao
March 9th 2010
Published: April 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,

Well I was quite exhausted on Monday but content non the less, have to make the most of things in life. Things seem to be coming along excellently with the projects, I was hoping to finish our construction this week but as always with construction we are waiting for items we need. Things are going well with the Workshops, English is fine as is Boxing and football. I noticed some of the kids no longer come along and dont go to college, they help there parents make braids to go around people wrists instead, didnt want to say anything but oh well.

I have started applying for some jobs in England , knowing the jobs market is bad I guess its a good idea to make a start to do it know. The next and last place we decided to visit was somewhere called Chachamayo, its in the Amazon Jungle. From Lima its about 8 hrs east past Huanchayo.

As I may have previously explained Peru is broken down into three distinct geographies, one is Desert and coastal regions, the next is the Andes which is highly mountanous and pretty lush, I suppose its similar to Austria or the Lake district, just one hell of a lot higher and the third is the Amazonas or dense Jungle.

Its a big thing to experience all three and I was glad to do so. We used an overnight bus again and arrived at 7 in the morning. We had to traverse the Andes to get to Chachamayo and I was asleep when we got to the highest point, I awoke with breathing difficulities because we were so high, I guess its because I breath differently when i'm asleep.......it a nutshell it was not nice!!

For the saturday we booked a guided tour of the area, this meant we went to meet a tribe, swam in a fantastic waterfall went in the Amazon river and went to a coffee plantation, it was very interesting though the tribe seemed slightly suspect, but hey ho when in Rome!

The Following day we went gorging which was awsome, I didnt really want to get wet at first but had no choice. I looked ridiculous in my wellington boots so wont me uploading the photos!!






Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb