The Last Day at the Orphanage


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
August 24th 2005
Published: August 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today was my last day at the orphanage. The day started in the kitchen, which as you know, I quite like. Then we played with the children. They have been playing that game with string that we use to play when we were kids...you know, the one where one person wraps the string around their hands and you grab certain parts of the string and transfer the string to you hands. It was a lot of fun. The kids have also learned to do a bit of macrame. They were making bracellets with twine(ish) material. I had the job of holding the end while they made the bracellet. One of the boys gave us each a bracellet! It was very touching.

Today I made use of the rope Todd bought for me before I left. I should say another use because Tracy and I have used some to hang our unmetionables in our room to dry. But today I brought the remainder of the rope to the orphanage to use as a jump rope. We had so much fun with it. The kids are quite good at it. We even joined it, too. It was a great last day. I was sad to leave.

Tomorrow I am going to help out at the prision and Friday I will return to the nursing home.

I have organized a Peruvian Pub Crawl for Thursday night. Many of us are leaving early Saturday to go home so we wanted to properly say goodbye. Some are staying of months to come. Que Lastima!! I don´t know how they have the strength for it. That´s all for now. I hope you are all well. sue

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb