Last Day in Ayacucho


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
July 28th 2005
Published: July 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

San Ramon GirlsSan Ramon GirlsSan Ramon Girls

Some of my students after school.
Tonight is my last night in Ayacucho. Well, that is IF my flights all go as planned. I ended up having a problem with my return flights being canceled on me, but I think I have it worked out. If anyone ever decides to book travel on Travelocity or Yahoo Travel, please reconsider!

So this last week has been exciting, but not very productive. It has been extremely hard to achieve any progress with the students, or with anyone else in the community. Today is their Independence Day, but the celebrations have been going on throughout the week. There was no school today and most businesses were closed.

We went down to the main Plaza for the celebrations today and it was pretty out-of-hand. Guns being shot in the air, cannons going off, and police trying to control the mass of people using billy clubs. We watched from a balcony, but some of the volunteers got stuck down there, and it was a little scary. Luckily nobody got hurt though.

Last night was one of the best nights here. Nick and Maxine (the two parents from London) booked a nice restaurant for us all to have dinner. We
DinnerDinnerDinner

Maxine, Tami, Me, Laura, Brenda.
all put in 25 soles each (about $8US) and they picked up the rest of the bill. It was all 35 volunteers, the staff, our tour guide....everyone! It was amazing. And with pitchers of sangria, and lots of wine, we got to really know each other ;-)
After dinner we went to a few clubs and bars...then headed back to the house. Really a bonding experience. It's going to be hard to leave everyone tomorrow, even though we have only known each other for a couple weeks.

Oh yea, so it's either a bruised or cracked rib that I have. I have pain killers, but they arn't helping much. I guess it's just something I'm going to have to live for awhile.

So, wish me luck on getting to Cuzco, and getting home from there.

Talk to you all soon.

Kevin



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Independence CrowdsIndependence Crowds
Independence Crowds

Crowds running through the Plaza after the gates came down this afternoon during the Independence Day Parade.
Little Boy Watching ParadeLittle Boy Watching Parade
Little Boy Watching Parade

From our balcony over the main Plaza.


Tot: 0.367s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb