Update


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
July 22nd 2005
Published: July 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

CCS HouseCCS HouseCCS House

This is where I live.
So today is Friday, and you could tell by how excited the kids were today. I don´t know why it´s such an exciting thing for them, being that they took yesterday off of school because there was a soccer game in town. Even though they were so excited about the weekend, we still have a great English lesson today.
Yesterday I went to a few different placement s (since my kids were at soccer). It was nice to get around the town more and see what the other volunteers were doing. I now walk everywhere, instead of taking the bus. You get to see so much more and interact with the people that way.
So, if you can´t tell, I am pretty beat and don´t have a whole lot to say today. But I leave tonight to go to the south of the country for the weekend. We are going to the wine/pisco country, the sand dunes (where I´m going to sandboard!), and to fly over the Nazca lines. It´s hard to explain what they are, but if you google Nazca Lines you will see pictures of them.
I feel like I am becoming part of the community here now, and
Inside CCS HouseInside CCS HouseInside CCS House

The common room. Brenda, Julia, and Claire. Claire is the tiny one, and has been to 7 continents before the age of 21!
am forming friendships with some of the volunteers. A few of us went out last night to a bar called Magic Negra. It had a great vibe, and the bartender even let me make my own pisco sour.

I am going to add another blog right now about the Shining Path, if you only read one of these...read that one. It´s crazy that this stuff was just going on, and most of us knew nothing about it.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Making My Own Pisco SourMaking My Own Pisco Sour
Making My Own Pisco Sour

In Magic Negra last night.
It´s Friday!!!It´s Friday!!!
It´s Friday!!!

Some of my students.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb