I'm dry tonight!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho » Ayacucho
January 12th 2008
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Smelly marketSmelly marketSmelly market

View of the entrance to the smelly market
Hi Everyone,

Thanks so much for all your messages and e-mails. It is all very encouraging!! Needless to say my mum hasn't worked out how to get on line yet, but I get my updates on 'posh Langside' and my boys from texting our friend Rose!! Apparently all is well at Casa Davies!! Special thank you to Manuela in the US who is reading my updates despite having recently had cataract surgery!! Manuela - please take care and don't overdo it!!

Manuela was on the CCS programme with me back in 2005, and worked in a Wawa Wasi too. Despite being in her 60s, she taught the kids yoga!! An incredible lady and a cat lover too!!

What a fantastic day I had today - please read on!!

Got up this morning and decided to head to Gringo Plaza for breakfast. Don't get me wrong, food in hotel is great, but there's just no atmosphere. Enjoyed a large glass of freshly squeezed pineapple juice with a fab mushroom omelette served on a bed of rice in typical Peruana style. Ate outdoors and enjoyed the atmosphere. Lots of Peruvian business men at the surrounding tables.

Weather was
Meat stalls in the smelly marketMeat stalls in the smelly marketMeat stalls in the smelly market

There are rows and rows of stalls like this. You can imagine the smell!!
cool this morning, with clouds low over the Andes, so my choice of waterproof jacket and waterproof walking shoes was good as it soon started to drizzle, although not pour.

I then went for a wander to take some photos for Vicki, and also visited the Christian bookshop. Then headed along to the smelly market. No change there, although there appears to be fewer artesania stalls and more meat!! The chickens still look petrified. Had a lovely conversation with a stall holder who (in typical Peruvian fashion) quickly established that I'm 36, single with no children (shock horror!!). I was then given some dried seeds which will (allegedly) help me find true love!! I have had these before, on my last visit, and not knowing what to do with them (eat, sleep on, boil??!!) I put them in my purse. Have done likewise with the seeds I was given today - they now reside with the remnants of the others. Maybe my lack of willingness to consume these is what I have been doing wrong, and why my Mr Right hasn't swept me off my feet?? Who knows? To be perfectly honest though I'm not really that interested in
More meat stallsMore meat stallsMore meat stalls

And more..............!! Wasn't I brave getting close enough to take a photo??
finding out!! I am really enjoying being here on my own, and doing my own thing - it's kinda nice not having to be somewhere and having no one else to worry about!!

I then headed back to the hotel for a quick change before heading off to Los Gorriones.

Gil did a truly amazing thing for me today (apologies for those of you not aware of my personal plans as this next bit may not make sense!!). Gil and I met with the social worker involved with Los Gorriones and she arranged a meeting for me with the Head Person in Ayacucho this afternoon. Off we went (supported by a lovely Los Gorriones volunteer who helped to translate as my Spanish isn't quite at that level yet) and had a v successful meeting. I have a meeting arranged with MIMDES in Lima this Monday, and the head lady in Ayacucho has provided me with another contact there and will telephone ahead to discuss my plans with them. They did caution that what I'm hoping to do may take some time at the Peruvian end, but I'm not going anywhere!! It was so good of Gil to arrange
Cheese StallsCheese StallsCheese Stalls

Only add to the interesting aroma!!
this for me. Turns out the relevant office is just across the road from my hotel!! It is very true that what goes around comes around, and I can't thank Gil and Chantal enough for doing this for me. They are truly amazing people and I feel privileged to call them my friends!!

After the meeting we headed back to Los Gorriones where I spent time with Sheyla first. Sheyla is gorgeous - approx 5 or 6 years old. She had a problem with her hip bone and had to have a number of operations. She can walk, but with a limp. Sheyla is v quiet and doesn't say much. She quickly comandeered me for a walk around the Casa and showed me her secret collection of little bits of paper. I hepled her count the pieces and we then wandered further. Later we did some colouring in a book that she had. A gorgeous child and a real pleasure to spend time with.

I also spent some time with Kris today. Kris has trouble with his right hand side, and doesn't use his arm or leg properly on that side. He is somewhere between 1 and 2
Fruit StallsFruit StallsFruit Stalls

I do like these though!!
(I am guessing here). I took Kris out for a walk around the Casa today too and graduated to feeding him and brushing his teeth. He loved his soup, but brushing his teeth was a challenge!!

I also helped Diego get ready for bed today. Diego is 8 years old and absolutely gorgeous. He can't see or speak, or walk. but can move his arms. He is one of the quietest children in the special needs area, but likes you to hold his hand and talk or sing to him. Getting Diego ready for bed involved changing his nappy, and putting on his pyjamas. I was so thankful for all that nappy folding at the girls orphanage back in 2005 as Gil and Chantal use a similar system for the special needs children. One of the other volunteers kept a watchful eye to make sure I did it properly - especially Diego's nappy. This is about the children being comfortable after all, and not about me.

Jakeline was on good form today - all smiles. I only heard her cry when she was getting ready for bed. Ruth Karina got upset this afternoon when she had her time
Av Victor FortadoAv Victor FortadoAv Victor Fortado

This is the street where Los Gorriones is located
on oxygen - she really doesn't like it. Chantal came in and had her soothed in moments.

Esther, not sure what they do for the children in terms of their sight. Will check with Gil and let you know. Not sure if they have an eye doctor who visits. The medical doctor and the social worker were there today, so it was a busy place!!

I chatted more with some of the volunteers today. They all love Los Gorriones. They have an apartment on the other side of the road and work approx 6 - 7 hours with the kids each day. They always have either a morning or afternoon to themselves. The majority have just finished university. They all love Ayacucho, and I'm sure this will be a time they will never forget. The majority come from Europe - France, Belgium and Germany.

As I was leaving tonight, the LG volunteers were organising showing a DVD on a screen outside. Not only for the Los Gorriones kids, but also for the other kids in the area. Gil is planning to prepare a cinema programme and distribute to the local kids. Plans for the new Casa for
Surrounding AreaSurrounding AreaSurrounding Area

Street next to Av Victor Fortado
the special needs children are ongoing. Gil hopes to have them finalised and start the construction work soon, but more funds needed. Will need some new ideas when I get back home!!

I have attached some photos of the street that Los Gorriones is in and the surrounding area, as well as the outside of the Casa. You may be shocked, but this is much more typical of the Peru that I know and love.

Headed home on the local bus, which was jam packed with local folks. Exactly the type of experience that I love. The roads in the Carmen Alto area (where Los Gorriones is located) are not smooth as you can see from the photos. This makes the bus ride v interesting. I ended up relatively up close and personal with a few of the locals in the back seat of the bus as a result of its shock absorbers having expired some time ago!! I will try to get a picture of the local bus so you can see what I mean. It was great though. Just the kind of non touristy experience that I love. Bus was definitely better that moto taxi, it
Casa Hogar Los GorrionesCasa Hogar Los GorrionesCasa Hogar Los Gorriones

The front door!!
has to be said!!

I'm catching up with Sue tomorrrow night. Sue was also a volunteer at CCS and loved it so much she decided to stay. Sue is English, and had just made the move to Ayacucho when I was here back in 2005. We're meeting for dinner and it will be great to hear how life has worked out for her.

Was dry when I made it back tonight, so at least I didn't disgrace myself. There is a fuction on at the hotel tonight, full of posh folks and Peruvian singing and dancing. Just been getting the gen on it from the guy on the computer next to me. He is from Lima and in Ayacucho on business. Got to practise a little more Spanish, although his English is so good, I thought he was European!!

Anyway - enough for tonight. Hope that you are enjoying the blogs.

Lesley x

PS Anyone interested in heading back to Peru with me to walk the Inca Trail? Thinking I could be sponsored to raise funds for Los Gorriones and the Vine Trust. Reckon could work up to it for next year in terms of
I Just Liked the ViewI Just Liked the ViewI Just Liked the View

On my travels this morning and just liked this shot.
fitness. All volunteers welcome, if not, I'll go it alone!!

Advertisement



12th January 2008

no i havent been abducted by aliens
being kept up to date by Rose. cant get my bloody e mail to work so sending this on your machine thing. Just so glad you are having such a good time and loving being back with the sparrows. Would be impossible to give all the names asking for you. Your poxy boys are just fine taking the usual p--s out of me but I am surviving. Doing one night at your place and one night at mine so they are having plenty company but sparky and albertz cant figure it out Had a dreadful storm your down the street neighbours brick wall fell down. Now its so cold its like an openair Crossmyloof but we are managing. The poxy brigade send their love as do I. Cant wait to hear all your stories and news remember just do not repeat not go paddling or swimming in the Amazon. Love and miss you every day.. Love to the sparrows gil and chantal. I'll be back Mum
12th January 2008

Inca Trail
Not sure I could do the entire thing, but if it were at a leisurely pace, I might give it a try. Of course I'll be 71 in 2009 so I might need a mule or donkey part time, like that Brit. author who did it with her 9-year old daughter - we had the book at CCS House. Like the color, by the way. Is Rudy still the manager? Do let us know what they do about eye care. And say Hi to Sue, I hope she is doing well. Hasta luego. Manuela
13th January 2008

Thanks
Hi, Thanks again for a heartfelt and thought-provoking blog entry which I enjoyed reading. Thanks also for emailing the pasteleria photos. Rigo's place could be either. I shall just have to return to Ayacucho one day to check it out and avail myself of a coconut biscuit or two! Hope you enjoy your evening out with Sue and that she's as nuts as ever! Have a wonderful final day in Ayacucho (until you return, which I'm sure you will) and a good journey back to Lima. Gracias por las memorias. Vicki

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb