Arequipa to Mollendo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
November 26th 2013
Published: November 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

First day of the bike tour. As with every day since I got to Arequipa, it was sunny and nearly cloudless, but a bit chilly as I set out at 7 am. I'd checked out the roads and got out of town via the most direct route, but still there were a few very short uphill climbs, the first I'd done with the bike fully loaded. I didn't have to get off and push so that was a good sign. Then it was downhill to the bottom of the Rio Chile, the river that runs through Arequipa. Then the first big uphill, I'd been wondering if I'd push the bike uphill for hours but managed to ride it all. Then a long, long downhill, another long uphill and then an amazing downhill to the sea. A total of 9880 feet of decent today. 2500 accent. 9 hours of riding, 77 miles, which sounds impressive but most was mostly sitting on my butt coasting downhill.

The bike seems to be working just fine. Although I've got too much stuff and it is unwieldy to move when I stop. I have to plan each stop to have a place to lean it and to minimize the amount I will have to lift and position it. But it rides nice and is super comfortable. I was actually glad to get back on the seat after sitting for a half-hour on the hard wooded chairs at a restaurant...

Photos show the scenery. Much of which was spectacular. The red cinder plains after the La Joya lake reminded me of Haleakala/Mars. it would be a great place to wander for a couple days.

Mollendo is a beach town but it is off-season as the water is still Antarctic-current cold, which changes in a month or so. The town is on rock outcrops just above the beach and is connected by a series of walkways. It's a pleasant little town with a nice nighttime street activity.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

House and compound along Route 34House and compound along Route 34
House and compound along Route 34

Reminded me of Mad Max... the 'screens' are to stop the wind.
Mollendo BeachMollendo Beach
Mollendo Beach

Off-season!


Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 26; qc: 113; dbt: 0.133s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb