Colca Canyon


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Colca Canyon
July 8th 2010
Published: July 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Guides for Colca Canyon claim that it´s the deepest in the world, but I trust my topographical map, which ranks it as second only to Cotahuasi Canyon, which is also in the Arequipa region of Peru. Close enough, I guess.

Expect to pay about 125 soles for the 2-day journey and 145 for the 3-day. I opted for the two day trek. The journey to the canyon begins at 3 AM and is a long, rough 6 hour journey on a dirt road. On the way we stopped for breakfast and to take pictures of condors. They were amazing, but the site is very touristy, as if we were on a cruise and stopping at various islands.

The first day begins with a four hour hike into the canyon and across a bridge to a small town. The walk is hard on the knees and I tried desperately not to look down as the trail is inches from thousand foot drops. If you don´t like heights, this isn´t the best trek for you.

After eating soup, Alpaca and fries (of course) for lunch, we hiked up 360 meters and then back down to the river to finish the 7 hour hike. The scenery was impressive... the sheer drops are more fragmented than smooth, imitating colossal church organs. In the creeks leading into the river, cacti and other plants are plentiful (as are plants that I would think are more befitting to a cloud forest), and the setting sun is a slideshow, transforming the scenery every time I had a chance to look up. The oasis at the bottom of the canyon is particularly beautiful, as it is surrounded by waterfalls and dark, rich vegetation. Though it was a bit cold when we arrived near dark, almost all of us opted for a swim in the pool.

The dinner was good enough and the beds were comfortable, but at 3AM I woke up feeling like my stomach would explode. I guess the Alpaca didn´t agree with me. After spending much of the night in the toilet, I was miserable and weak by the 5 AM wake up time. The guide said I could stay another night, ride a mule to the top, or attempt the 3 hour, 1,200 meter ascent out of the canyon. I chose the hike, and after three miserable hours of putting one foot in front of the other, I arrived at the top.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Condors3Condors3
Condors3

I meant to do that....
CactiShadowCactiShadow
CactiShadow

Notice the shapes of the rocks on the cliff.
CascadaCascada
Cascada

The genesis cave... this photo really doesn´t do it justice.
CabanasCabanas
Cabanas

These were quite comfortable, but don´t expect any electricity at the bottom of the canyon.
El grupoEl grupo
El grupo

I felt about as good as I look here... the hike back up is tough enough without being ill.
Terrace FarmingTerrace Farming
Terrace Farming

Someone had an incredible vision here, as these Pre-Incan terraces exist thoughout the valley and canyon.
Llamas Alpacas SheepLlamas Alpacas Sheep
Llamas Alpacas Sheep

We stopped at a nature preserve on the way back to Arequipa.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb