Nevado Chachani (6075m)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
December 8th 2009
Published: December 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I know what you´re thinking - another volcano? Don´t they get bored...
Well not if it is the biggest yet. A large 6075m.

I´d been suffering from diarrhoea and a significant loss of appetitie which is not ideal preparation for this kind of thing. Having turned down the idea of seeing a doctor (I thought I was on an upward curve) I resorted to the inadvertant diagnosis of a 1980s Toyota 4x4 driven by a maniacal Preuvian on what was described as an únpaved´road for three hours. It was so bad that at times it was impassable (not at all like my food), and the driver would revert to swerving over some roadside bushes and opting to veer back on to the track at an oportune moment. I can think of no better bowel movement test than a combination offear and discomfort for an extended period and I was not let down. The prognosis was more to come and the car was right.

Things were to improve rapidly with every track eminating from our guides mp3 player. Somehow he had managed to secure a copy of the A Night at The Roxbury soundtrack (thanks Ben for bringing this into my life and those of the inhabitants of 13 Bellfied Rd). Lindsay was less impressed with the music than I but considered every pain inducing bump in the road to be a reminder that she was no longer stuck with me feeling sorry for myself in a hostel room in Arequipa.

The route up Nevado Chachani starts at just below 5000m which is a gasp inducing height if you´re not well acclimatised. This makes Chachani a favourite for those looking to bag a 6k peak but the reality is the vast majority fail because the climb involves lengthy traverses on scree slopes in the dark to access the summit and many turn back before half way.

We set up base camp at 5400m and tried to sleep in the afternoon. We then had dinner in a tent at 6pm and got another few winks before starting the climb at 1:15 am. At the height it was approx -2 or -3 degrees centrigrade before windchill. It´s a ten hour round trip from there if you make the summit, including several very upsetting down climbs (upsetting because they are ascent on the way back). We made the summit at 6:30am just after the sun had risen over the peaks of El Misti and Ampato.

I had collapsed exhausted at least twice on route complaining that I had nothing in the tank left, but thanks to Lindsay´s enthusiastic support ("Don´t even think about leaving me now") we finally made it and I sank to the floor falling asleep instantly as Lindsay did the photography. It was undoubtedly the hardest thing I can remember doing in adult life. Lindsay suffered the cold and pushed us both on. Thanks.

No moe volcanoes now, I promise.





Advertisement



9th December 2009

How high?
Not much higher till you get to Everest!! Pretty impressive achievement. Think the fear element may have constricted your sphinctures George.... but it worked! Well done Hilary and Tensing. Love Mum xx

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb