Call Off The Cavalry


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Concepcion
April 17th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm alive. My parents were a bit worried as I didn't appear online for over a week after leaving them and Argentina. Apparantly Dad was ready to call Interpol. Though I do hope my mother was joking about that. The reason I was missing in action was that on arriving in Paraguay I decided to stay in Asuncion for a week with my surrogate mother and sister, Elaine and Rach, and they don't have internet in their house. So I had a lovely time with them, meeting all their friends and seeing what they do during the week. I even got up at 6am to go into school with them one day! Only one day mind you. Unfortunately I got completely caught out for being there. One evening I went to Alpha with the girls and in the car park I ran to the Bishop. Oooops, busted! I'm only supposed to have 4 weeks off and that week in Asuncion made it 5. He asked what I was doing there and I said I just got back from Argentina and decided to stay 'a few days' to recover from the bus journey before getting another one back to Concepcion. To which he replied "Do whatever comes to your mind." I think that means I was suppose to ask permision... Ah well. I'm leaving in 2 months, what do I care? When I eventually got back to Concepcion I was welcomed back by a bunch of little kids hugging me, which was lovely. (I would just like to assure people that I do infact know all the kids who hugged me)

Whilst I was in Uruguay I recieved some bad news, I didn't mention it on here before now because the holiday was so good I didn't want to spoil the description of it with the bad news. But here goes. While we were away little Romina died. Apparantly an intestinal infection took hold of her so quickly that they couldn't do anything to help her. It's so sad, she was doing so well and the Doctors were so pleased. It's so sad that she never got to say a word or take a step in her short little life. But at least she got to feel loved.

I just got a bundle of post including one last christmas card and a lovely bundle of birthday cards. Gotta love the Paraguayan postal system. So thank you to all the loevly people who sent me birthday cards!

In other news, on Monday a miracle occurred, it got COLD! Yes folks, you read that correctly, it's been cold since Monday! Well I say cold, I mean about 20 degrees C which, disturbingly, now causes me to put on a jumper. I'm going to die when I get back to England. Unfortunately by this weekend it's due to be back up in the 30s. But at least we had a little bot of cold, it's been nice while it lasted.

I've decided to go to Asuncion on the 19th May and stay there for my last month in Paraguay because I need to use a library to finish my essay, and here is not exactly the center of the world for culture and knowledge.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb